Tomato Bisque

Standard

Hola!

Give me a moment to tell you what happened last week with this delicious Tomato Bisque. I got home from work and found that my husband was asleep. So I went about my business of cooking and all that other home stuff. When dinner was ready I woke him up and told him that he shouldn’t of taken a nap because then he won’t be able to sleep at night. He blamed the nap on the tomato bisque (I had made it the day before)! He said “I had a late lunch of  tomato bisque and it was so good and filling that it put me to sleep”. So if you want to put your husband to sleep I suggest you make this bisque and ditch him…go shopping, to the antique store, craft store….anywhere that you might not want to take him!

All the green tomatoes we had have ripened and I needed to make something with the tomatoes pronto! Instead of using canned tomatoes I used fresh tomatoes that I pureed (seeds and all) with my hand held blender thingy.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup onions, finely diced
  • 1/4 cup celery, finely diced
  • 1 cup oil (I used corn oil because I have a big vat of it)
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 2 (16 oz) cans whole peeled tomatoes
  • 1/2 tablespoons chicken bouillon powder
  • 1 quart heavy cream
  • 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • 1 teaspo0n black pepper
  • salt to taste
Directions:
In a medium stock pot, saute onions and celery in oil until tender. Stir in the flour and mix until fully incorporated. Puree the tomatoes and add to flour mixture. Stir in the bouillon powder, heavy cream, Italian seasoning and pepper and cook on medium heat. Stir frequently for 10 to 15 minutes. Salt to taste.
This bisque is delicious served with a loaf of bread, sorry I mean a piece of French, Italian or artisan bread. Serve this in a GIGANTIC bowl for your husband and run!
Besos,
Flor
About Flor

Hola! I'm Flor. Forty-something, wife, mom, amateur baker, amateur home cook, self professed craftinista, Elvis loving chick. This blog is about my journey through the everyday life. I hope you find some inspiration here! All posts and opinions are solely mine.

Leave a Reply

