Pozole (Pork and Hominy Soup)

Standard

First, I want to take a minute to say “Thank You” to all our veterans. They have all given up countless things and even people to be at our country’s defense. Thank you! I am lucky enough to have the day off work, so I am definitely going to enjoy it!

Pozole is a soup, it’s a stew,it’s a comfort food and a meal for celebrations. It’s just plain delicious! I am the worst pozole maker ever!! I’ve only ever made it one or twice and it was not that great. My sister in law makes a slammin’ posole! My daughter is always asking her to make it so I decided last weekend that I would find a recipe to help me out instead of just throwing in this n that!  It was pretty darn close to my sister-in-laws!

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons corn oil
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 head garlic, cloves peeled and chopped
  • 2 pounds pork stew meat, cut into cubes
  • homemade chicken stock
  • 4 ancho chiles, seeded and deveined, soaked in hot water until soft
  • 4 guajillo chiles, seeded and deveined, soaked in hot water until soft
  • 4 cascabel chiles, seeded and deveined, soaked in hot water until soft
  • 1 teaspon dried marjoram
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 package refrigerated maiz para pozole or 2 32-ounce cans hominy

For garnish:

  • Lime wedges
  • Chopped onion
  • Shredded lettuce
  • Dried oregano


In a large stockpot, heat the oil, add the onion and garlic, and saute until the onion is transparent. Add the meat and the chicken stock to cover. The amount of stock used will depend on how thick a pozole is desired; more may be added with the hominy later on. Bring to a boil, cover, reduce heat and cook until the pork is tender.

Meanwhile, puree the softened chiles with just enough broth to allow movement of the blender blades.

Add the chile puree, marjoram, thyme and hominy and continue cooking until the hominy is tender. This will require less time if canned hominy is used.

Serve the hot pozole in deep bowls, with separate bowls of garnish ingredients on the table so that diners can add their own.

Serves 8-10.

If you already know how to make pozole you know that there are different ways of making it. The spiciness  of this dish depends on how much of the pepper sauce you add, so feel free to add less than the recipe asks for

Instead of lettuce as a garnish I like to use shredded cabbage. My husband is funny when he complements my food. He usually just says “It’s ok”. Which kind of upsets me and make me want to karate chop him, but I just let it go. This time he said “Wow, this is pretty good”. That’s a big complement coming from him.  This is one of my Mexican comfort and celebration foods. I hope you get a chance to try it!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe from http://www.mexconnect.com

About Flor

Hola! I'm Flor. Forty-something, wife, mom, amateur baker, amateur home cook, self professed craftinista, Elvis loving chick. This blog is about my journey through the everyday life. I hope you find some inspiration here! All posts and opinions are solely mine.

Leave a Reply

