Lentil and Chicken Soup

Standard

Hola!

Everyone is so busy this time of year. If you are anything like me you have kids events going on, you are working, cooking, cleaning and trying to fit in some fun stuff too. On busy days I really like to use my crock pot if I can. Yesterday my daughter had a swim meet, so I knew I was not going to have time to cook. I took out my beloved crock pot. I kind of think crock pot cooking is an “acquired’ taste. Don’t get me wrong. The meals that come out of a crock pot are very good and  require minimal work, but a lot of people don’t like using a crock pot. It is definitely a time saver. I decided to make this delicious and healthy Lentil and Chicken Soup.

I have made this soup before and it was delicious .So the night before last I took out all the ingredients and dumped them into the crock pot. I thought this is great. I can just cook soup in the crock pot overnight so that it is  all ready in the morning. I could have it for lunch and we could have it for dinner since my daughter had a swim meet yesterday.  UH OH…what was I thinking? This was a recipe to be made on the stove…oooops! Oh well! Too late! I turned the crock pot on low and let it cook overnight. It was perfect. I just removed the chicken, shredded it and put it back in the crockpot.

No one was the wiser. Sometimes I guess I just don’t pay attention, but this time it was ok. There are a lot of recipes for crock pots. They are great time savers…perfect for when you don’t have the time.

Lentil And Chicken Soup

  • 1 lb dried lentils
  • 3 small chicken breast halves on the bone, skin and fat removed
  • 2 chicken bullion (I like Maggi)
  • 1 packet Sazon (in Latin section)
  • 1 small onion
  • 4 scallions
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 tomato
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro (optional)
  • 8 cups water

In a large pot combine lentils, chicken, water and chicken bullion. Boil, covered over medium-low heat until chicken is cooked, about 15 minutes. Remove chicken from the bone and shred, return to pot.

Meanwhile, in a mini chopper, finely chop onions, scallions, cilantro, garlic, and tomato. Add to the lentils with sazon and cook 15 more minutes, or until lentils are soft. (Add more water if needed)

Or if you are like me sometimes:

Place all ingredients in the crock pot overnight (or during the day!) for 8 hours. Remove chicken, shred and return to crock pot . Enjoy!

Besos,

Flor

 

Recipe from http://www.skinnytaste.com

About Flor

Hola! I'm Flor. Forty-something, wife, mom, amateur baker, amateur home cook, self professed craftinista, Elvis loving chick. This blog is about my journey through the everyday life. I hope you find some inspiration here! All posts and opinions are solely mine.

One response »

  1. I love my crockpot!! Soups, stews and whatever you can think of can go in there. I’ve even seen desserts made in the crock pot. I haven’t been daring enough, but I think you would be!

Leave a Reply

