Potatoes and Green Chiles (Papas con Rajas)

Standard

Hola!

I Can’t believe it’s December! The older I get the faster time seems to go. So I have been invited to my first cookie exchange! I am so excited! I have no idea of what kind of cookie to make. Do you have any suggestions? Should I do chocolate, fruit, soft, crispy? I guess whatever I make I should practice it first.

I really like cooking with poblano peppers. They have such a delicious flavor and are pretty verastile. I like using them best after I’ve roasted them and peeled the skin off…delish!

This is a quick meal and requires minimum ingredients.Perfect after a long day at work.

The spiciness depends on the peppers. A good tip to make them less spicy is to make sure you take out all the seeds and veins of the peppers.

INGREDIENTS

2 small (about 6 ounces total) boiling potatoes like the red-skinned ones, halved (I used cubed russet potatoes)
1 1/2 tablespoons lard or vegetable oil
1/2 small onion, thinly sliced
3 medium, fresh chiles poblanos, roasted and peeled
Salt, about 1/2 teaspoon
3/4 cup (about 3 ounces) crumbled Mexican queso fresco or other fresh cheese like mild domestic goat or farmer’s cheese

DIRECTIONS

1.   The potatoes.   Simmer the potatoes in salted water to cover until tender, about 15 minutes. Drain, cool under running water, peel and cut into 1/4-inch dice.

2.    Fry the mixture.   Heat the lard or oil in a heavy medium-size skillet over medium. Add the onion and potato, and fry, stirring regularly to ensure that nothing sticks to the pan, until the mixture is nicely browned, 10 to 15 minutes.

While the potatoes are browning, seed the chiles and slice them into 1/8-inch strips. Stir them into the potato mixture, season with salt, remove from the fire and stir in the cheese. Scrape into a small dish and cool before using.

Next time I think I will chop the peppers instead of slicing into strips. I just like that then they will be more evenly distributed among chopped potatoes. I heated up some tortillas and used this delicious filling for tacos.

Send me some ideas for my cookie exchange! I need to take cookies that will be better than anyone else’s…ok, that’s not going to happen because the other invited guests are AWESOME  bakers!

Besos,

Flor

 

Recipe from rickbayless.com

Leave a Reply

