Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

Standard

Hola!

Happy Monday! Here we are just a few days before Christmas! Are you all set? Are you done shopping and wrapping? I feel totally relieved to be done! So I went to my first cookie exchange on Saturday and had such a good time! Everyone’s cookies were absolutely delicious! I took my Red Velvet Whoopie and came back with several different kinds of cookies. My kids and husband ate every single cookie I brought home. I used Wilton’s candy melts to decorate the whoopie pies. They looked so cute all together.

I will be making the same thing for my second cookie exchange on Tuesday. Everyone at home kept asking if they could eat the whoopie pies and of course the answer was no. I felt so bad. I am going to try making a Red Velvet Roll Cake for Christmas…I will make it up to them with that I hope.

 

Ingredients

  • 2 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped
  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 tablespoon red food coloring
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons white vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon clear Spice Islands® pure vanilla extract
  • 2-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup baking cocoa
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda

  • FILLING:
  • 1 package (8 ounces) cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 2-1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 2 teaspoons clear Spice Islands® pure vanilla extract

  • TOPPINGS:
  • White baking chips, melted
  • Finely chopped pecans

Directions

  • In a microwave, melt chocolate; stir until smooth. Set aside.
  • In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs, sour cream, food coloring, vinegar and vanilla. Combine the flour, cocoa, baking powder, salt and baking soda; gradually add to creamed mixture and mix well. Stir in melted chocolate.
  • Drop by tablespoonfuls 2 in. apart onto parchment paper-lined baking sheets. Bake at 375° for 8-10 minutes or until edges are set. Cool for 2 minutes before removing from pans to wire racks to cool completely.
  • For filling, in a large bowl, beat cream cheese and butter until fluffy. Beat in confectioners’ sugar and vanilla until smooth. Spread filling on the bottoms of half of the cookies, about 1 tablespoon on each. Top with remaining cookies. Drizzle with melted baking chips; sprinkle with nuts. Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator. Yield: 2 dozen.

Besos,

Flor

Recipe from http://www.tasteofhome.com

About Flor

Hola! I'm Flor. Forty-something, wife, mom, amateur baker, amateur home cook, self professed craftinista, Elvis loving chick. This blog is about my journey through the everyday life. I hope you find some inspiration here! All posts and opinions are solely mine.

Leave a Reply

