Strawberry Cheesecake & Weight Update

Standard

Hola!

Yesterday was such a great day! Didn’t fall asleep at work, barely yawned. That’s a good day to me!

I met with my monthly stamp group and had such a great time! We always laugh so much together!I will share the card I made later this week. I made a dinner that none of my family liked including me! I will never share that recipe nor will I have cabbage for a looooong time!

So yesterday was my hubby’s birthday. We don’t do a big to do for our (mine and my husbands) birthdays, but I did make him a delicious cheesecake. He wold prefer a fruit flavored dessert to a cake type dessert, so this worked out perfect.

It was not too sweet, you can taste the fruit and just the right consistency.

Come to Mama!!!! I only had one bite. I could never post a recipe here without testing it first. It was hard but I made the sacrifice!

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup butter or margarine, melted
  • 2 (10 ounce) packages frozen sweetened strawberries, thawed
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 3 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese, softened
  • 1 (14 ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon water

Directions

  1. Combine graham cracker crumbs, sugar and butter. Press onto the bottom of an ungreased 9-in. springform pan. Refrigerate for 30 minutes. In a blender or food processor, combine strawberries and cornstarch; cover and process until smooth. Pour into a saucepan; bring to a boil. Boil and stir for 2 minutes. Set aside 1/3 cup strawberry sauce; cool. Cover and refrigerate remaining sauce for serving. In a mixing bowl, beat cream cheese until light and fluffy. Gradually beat in milk. Add lemon juice; mix well. Add eggs, beat on low just until combined. Pour half of the cream cheese mixture over crust. Drop half of the reserved strawberry mixture by 1/2 teaspoonfuls onto cream cheese layer. Carefully spoon remaining cream cheese mixture over sauce. Drop remaining strawberry sauce by 1/2 teaspoonfuls on top. With a knife, cut through top layer only to swirl strawberry sauce. Bake at 300 degrees F for 45-50 minutes or until center is almost set. Cool on a wire rack for 10 minutes. Carefully run a knife around edge of pan to loosen; cool 1 hour longer. Refrigerate overnight. Remove side of pan. Thin chilled strawberry sauce with water if desired; serve with cheesecake. Store in the refrigerator.
I had triple berry mix in the freezer(strawberries, raspberries and blueberries) so I used that instead of just the strawberries. Other than that I followed the recipe to a T and it was perfection. I guess I should call it Triple Berry Cheesecake. This would be a perfect dessert for valentines day by actually using just strawberries for the color and by swirling heart shapes in it.
On to the weight…I have been following my Weight Watchers recipes and menus religiously and I have lost…..5 pounds in 5 days!
I am super excited and realize that I must continue on this journey even if I miss delicious desserts like the above mentioned cheesecake. I  did taste the cheesecake, but only one bite. It will be so worth it!
Besos,
Flor
Recipe from allrecipes.com
Leave a Reply

