Stuffed Pepper Soup

Standard

Hola!

Let me tell you…being on a diet is not what it used to be many, many years ago. You don’t have to eat just salads and fruit. You can eat real food. Real delicious, healthy food. An actual meal. In my life I have been on every diet and fad, starved myself, danced myself to death (in private of course!) and of course gained the weight back. It’s rough. I have found myself crying with hunger or being hangry (angry because of hunger). I have been busted between the refrigerator and cabinet with a piece of cheesecake stuffed in my mouth. It’s an ongoing battle. It’s about the choices we make. Chocolate vs. an apple, whole grain bread vs. white bread, eating to lose weight vs. starving to lose weight. It’ about ignoring people when they unkindly say that you look fat (they are obviously not looking past that to the real you). It’s about exercising vs. not exercising (and I will admit that I hate to exercise). It’s about a lot of things, but mostly it’s about being ready and about doing it for yourself. I’m ready (again) and I will do it while eating  healthy meals along with snacks. Go ahead make the choice and the decision to do it for yourself. So that you are healthy. So that you feel good about yourself. So that you can rock that hot dress with the stilettos…and if you are a guy do it so that you can buy a new smaller belt!

Anyways…here’s a delicious meal that maybe will motivate you to get ready and do it…

If you have tons of fresh tomatoes use those. It will have a more tomatoey taste which I personally enjoy.

Delicious and filling.

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups cooked brown rice
  • 1 lb 95% lean ground beef
  • 1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper
  • 1 cup finely diced onion
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2 cans (14.5 oz each) cans petite diced tomatoes
  • 1 3/4 cups tomato sauce
  • 2 cups reduced sodium, fat-free chicken broth
  • 1/2 tsp dried marjoram
  • salt and fresh pepper to taste

Directions:

In a large pot or dutch oven, brown ground meat on high heat and season with salt.Drain fat if any, reduce heat to medium-low, then add peppers, onions and garlic.Cook about 5 minutes on low heat.

Add tomatoes, tomato sauce, chicken broth, marjoram and season with salt and pepper to taste. Cover and simmer on low heat for 30 minutes. Serve about 1 1/3 cups of soup in each bowl and top with 1/2 cup cooked brown rice.

Makes about 8 cups.

I didn’t have any red pepper so I just doubled the green pepper. I also used turkey instead of ground beef. I’m big on using whatever I have on hand as long as it is a healthy substitution.

Besos,

Flor

 

Recipe from skinnytaste.com

About Flor

Hola! I'm Flor. Forty-something, wife, mom, amateur baker, amateur home cook, self professed craftinista, Elvis loving chick. This blog is about my journey through the everyday life. I hope you find some inspiration here! All posts and opinions are solely mine.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

