Sausage and Mushroom Strata

Standard

Hola!

Here we are in the cold! On cold days I like to make filling and hearty meals…no sandwiches for us! A lot of the recipes I’ve been posting are light and healthy but also very filling. Who doesn’t want a full belly? This past weekend I almost cried from hunger…again! I weighed in yesterday morning and I lost one pound. Not bad…I will get there eventually. That brings my total weight loss so far to seven pounds since January 4th. Yay for me!

I really enjoyed this filling meal.

It’s considered a breakfast meal, but I made it for dinner. I can eat this for all three meals.

I want to call it Sausage and Muchroom Strata because I feel like I have too much room in my belly…it’s always growling.

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz wheat ciabatta bread, cut into 1-inch cubes (I used the bread from the Artisan Bread in 5 https://micasayourcasa.wordpress.com/2012/01/19/artisan-bread-in-five/
  • 12 oz turkey breakfast sausage (I used Italian turkey sausage)
  • 2 cups fat-free milk
  • 1-1/2 cup (4 ounces) reduced-fat shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 3 large eggs
  • 12 oz egg substitute, like egg beaters
  • 1/2  cup  chopped green onions
  • 1 cup sliced mushrooms
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • salt and fresh pepper
  • 2 tbsp grated parmesan cheese

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400°.

Arrange bread cubes on a baking sheet. Bake at 400° for 8 minutes or until toasted.

Heat a medium skillet over medium-high heat. Add sausage to pan; cook 7 minutes or until browned, stirring to crumble. Combine milk, cheese, eggs, egg substitute, parmesan cheese, paprika, salt and pepper in a large bowl, stirring with a whisk. Addbread, sausage, scallions and mushrooms, tossing well to coat bread. Spoon mixture into a 13×9-inch baking dish. Cover and refrigerate 8 hours or overnight.

This is the meal that turned one of my nights last week into a disaster, but it was worth it. It was warm and filling the following morning. Excellent when you have a lot of people to feed. If you aren’t watching what you eat some eggs on the side would be marvelous!

 

Besos,

Flor

 

Recipe from www.skinnytaste.com

About Flor

Hola! I'm Flor. Forty-something, wife, mom, amateur baker, amateur home cook, self professed craftinista, Elvis loving chick. This blog is about my journey through the everyday life. I hope you find some inspiration here! All posts and opinions are solely mine.

Leave a Reply

