Cornmeal Cake

Standard

Hola!

Feliz Friday to you! Yes! My favorite day of the week. Yesterday was a super hard day for watching my points. I over ate…I admit it! I couldn’t help it! It was some healthy left overs from the day before! I guess it’s better than the bag of Doritos that I begged my husband to bring home or I would just die! I’m glad he said no to me!

I am not a big fan of corn bread. It’s just too dry for my taste. Or maybe I haven’t had the right kind of cornbread (I’ve only ever made Jiffy cornbread!). When I saw this recipe I knew it was just right for me. It’s not exactly a corn bread but more of a sweet corn cake.

Behold the sunshine…

Ingredients:
  • 3 cups skim milk
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1-1/2 cup yellow corn meal (coarse)
  • 1-1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1-1/2 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 2-1/2 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp grated parmesan cheese
  • baking spray
Directions:

Preheat oven to 350° F. Spray a 13″ x 9″ x 2″ baking pan with baking spray.

Add milk, eggs, corn meal, sugar, flour, and butter to blender.  Mix all ingredients until blended well (about 1 minute).  Then add baking powder and grated Parmesan cheese and blend on lowest setting or pulse for a few seconds.

Pour mixture into baking pan and bake at 350° F for 50 minutes or until golden brown. Remove from oven and let cool for 30 minutes before serving (I like it warm). Cut into 21 pieces.

This is cake is amazing. The bottom layer is firm and kind of dense and the top layer is cakey and moist. It is good served as a side dish and also delicious as a dessert, or snack. I even had it for breakfast. It is absolutely delicious…you need to try this!

Have a great weekend!

Besos,

Flor

 

Recipe from http://www.skinnytaste.com

About Flor

Hola! I'm Flor. Forty-something, wife, mom, amateur baker, amateur home cook, self professed craftinista, Elvis loving chick. This blog is about my journey through the everyday life. I hope you find some inspiration here! All posts and opinions are solely mine.

Leave a Reply

