Cranberry Buttermilk Breakfast Cake

Standard

Hola!

Happy Monday! The start of a new week and Valentine’s at that! It was a relatively quiet weekend. My husband and I went to see the movie “The Vow”. I was super excited to go see it and couldn’t wait until next week. Boy…what a disappointment! I was all excited thinking it would be a great love story on Valentine’s weekend…NOT! I was not thrilled with how slow the movie moved along. The actors were not very good at all. I think Rachel McAdams was the best actress/actor in the movie. I should have spent my money at Dollar Tree. I felt bad after dragging my husband to see it, but he was a good sport about it. Now on to something much better…Cake!

I found this recipe via Pinterest and of course I had all the ingredients on hand. I had some frozen cranberries that I needed to use so this was the perfect cake for them.

I have this adorable heart shaped pan and it was perfect. So pretty and colorful!

It was absolutely delicious. The cranberries were a bit tangy so next time I will coat them with sugar instead of flour.

Ingredients

½ cup unsalted butter, room temperature
the zest from 1 orange zest
1 cup + 1 tablespoon sugar
1 egg, room temperature
1 tsp. vanilla
2 cups flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. kosher salt
2 cups fresh cranberries
½ cup buttermilk

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 350ºF. Cream butter with orange zest and 1 cup of the sugar until light and fluffy.

2. Add the egg and vanilla and beat until combined. Meanwhile, toss the cranberries with 2 tablespoons of flour, then whisk together the remaining flour, baking powder and salt.

3. Add the flour mixture to the batter a little at a time, alternating with the buttermilk. Fold in the cranberries.

4. Grease a 9-inch square baking pan (or something similar) with butter or coat with non-stick spray. Spread batter into pan. Sprinkle batter with remaining tablespoon of sugar. Bake for 35 minutes, then check for doneness by touching the top gently or by inserting a toothpick. If necessary, return pan to oven, check every five minutes or so — it took my cake a little bit over 45 minutes to cook. (Note: Baking for as long as 50 minutes might be necessary, especially if you made the batter in advance.) Let cool at least 15 minutes before serving.

 

My husband really enjoyed this! It was gone by the end of the day. It was eaten more as a snack than a breakfast cake! If you want a romantic movie watch “The Notebook”. Love stories don’t get much better than in that movie!

Have a great Monday!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe from http://www.alexandracooks.com

 

Leave a Reply

