Blueberry Jam Crumb Bars

Standard

Hola!

So I took all my Valentine’s decorations down and everything looks so naked! Soon I’ll be putting up Easter and Spring decorations and I can’t wait to see the sun shining and hear the  birds singing! Winter is almost done! My husband is totally into the organic gardening thing…I’m actually kind of excited! He’s been getting all his seeds started and I have all these cool garden things posted on my Pinterest that I want to make for our backyard and garden. It’ll be nice to have some organic and fresh veggies!

I have lots of blueberry jam/jelly that I made this past summer in the freezer and I need to use it up before summer gets here. I found a recipe for some jam crumb bars that were delicious.

These bars were really good! I tried to make them healthier by using 1/2 white flour and 1/2 wheat flour. I hope it worked!

Ingredients

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 sticks butter, diced
  • 1 egg
  • 1 pint blueberry jam
Directions

Preheat the oven to 350° and grease a 9×13″ baking pan using the wrapper of the butter.  Combine the flour, sugar, baking powder and cinnamon in a bowl.  Blend in the butter and egg using your fingers.  Pat half of the mixture into the baking pan, pressing firmly.  Spread on the jam evenly, then sprinkle on the remaining crumbs.  Bake for 45 minutes until nicely browned.  Cool completely and then slice.

I’m thinking that probably any kind of jam would be delicious for these bars! But then again I like to eat everything!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe from http://www.farmersdaughterct.wordpress.com

 

Leave a Reply

