Baked Banana and Blueberry Oatmeal

Standard

Hola!

Feliz Friday…It’s felt like another super long week but that’s OK because I am off on Monday! Yay! Thank you, Mr. Presidents!

So this weight loss stuff is weighing on my mind lately. Sometimes my girls just don’t want to eat what I cook so they have to fend for themselves. I’ve just always been one to make sure I cooked meals for my family that they liked and now I’m feeling a bit bad. If they don’t want what I cooked they will eat cereal, mac & cheese or something else. They might even just fry an egg. I feel mighty guilty! I just need to forge ahead because I want them to have a happy, healthy mom that will be here for them until they are way older! I want them to know that is really is important to eat healthy and to also feel good about yourself…being a Mom is freakin’ hard!

Anyway on to a delicious breakfast food that can also be eaten as a snack….yummy!

I have several bags of frozen fruit that I need to use…so I used a bag of frozen blueberries, strawberries and raspberries. Waste not, want not!

This was absolutely delicious and filling. You can probably double the recipe and have enough for a week for breakfast.

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium ripe bananas, (the riper the better) sliced into 1/2″ pieces
  • 1 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 1/4 cup honey (or agave)
  • 1 cup uncooked quick oats
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts or pecans
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 cup fat free milk (or any milk you desire)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375° F.  Lightly spray a 8 x 8″ or 9 x 9″ ceramic baking dish with cooking spray; set aside.

Arrange the banana slices in a single layer on the bottom of the ceramic dish.Sprinkle half of the blueberries over the bananas, 1/4 tsp of the cinnamon, 1 tbsp of the honey and cover with foil. Bake 15 minutes, until the bananas get soft.

Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, combine the oats, half of nuts, baking powder, remaining cinnamon, and salt; stir together.  In a separate bowl, whisk together the remaining honey, milk, egg, and vanilla extract.

Remove the bananas from the oven, then pour the oat mixture over the bananas and blueberries.

Pour the milk mixture over the oats, making sure to distribute the mixture as evenly as possible over the oats.  Sprinkle the remaining blueberries and walnuts over the the top.

Bake
 the oatmeal for about 30 minutes, or until the top is golden brown and the oatmeal has set. Serve warm from the oven.

Don’t wait another day! Make. This. Now.

Besos,

Flor

recipe from http://www.skinnytaste.com

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

