Broiled Tilapia with Tomatoes & Caper Sauce

Standard

Hola!

Happy Monday! Since I am off work today I guess I will run around and get some errands done. Nothing too exciting! This weekend was pretty good! I apologize for no Scrapbook Saturday! On Friday my husband wanted to go to a buffet restraunt…wow! Were me and my girls disappointed! I was not thrilled with the thought of buffet style but was more disappointed when we ended up at Sweet Tomatoes! don’t get me wrong…it was good, but my girls wanted a full buffet. My husband just ate tons of salad while we kind of just munched on very little! Next time I think he should go alone! After coming home from dinner I stayed up late cooking something to take to my brothers house to celebrate his birthday…hence, no Scrapbook Saturday. We had a great time at my brothers house and I was totally off eating healthy for the day! I over indulged! Yesterday I made up for it by eating healthy!

This Tilapia with Tomatoes & Caper Sauce was wonderful!

Even my girls liked it even though they are not tomato fans. This was a quick meal and of course nutritious. Since I didn’t have any shallots on hand I just used onion.

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 4 (6 oz) tilapia filets
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 2 shallots, minced
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 2 tbsp capers
  • 1/4 cup white wine (I use Pinot Grigio)
  • salt and fresh pepper

Directions

Brush fish with 1 tbsp olive and season with salt and pepper.

In a medium sauté pan, heat remaining olive oil. Add garlic and shallots and sautéon medium-low about 4-5 minutes. Add tomatoes and season with salt and pepper. Add wine and sauté until wine reduces, about 5 minutes. Add capers and sauté an additional minute.

Meanwhile, set broiler to low and place fish about 8 inches from the flame. Broil until fish is cooked through, about 7 minutes.

Place fish on a platter and top with tomato caper sauce.

I am trying to incorporate more seafood into our diets, but it is pretty hard to do with our girls sometimes being picky or when I really just want pasta with the seafood!

 

Besos,

Flor

Recipe from http://www.skinnytaste.com

 

Leave a Reply

