Orange Coconut Cake with Orange Frosting

Standard

Hola!

The week is speeding by! I was off on Monday and was home with my daughter on Tuesday who was sick. That makes for a super short week! I really needed to get back to work!

My husband and I (mostly my husband!) are putting vinyl flooring in our basement! We’ve been trying to get the floor done for a while and we finally decided on one! I can’t wait until he starts and finishes it. That means there will be a lot of organizing and a lot of de cluttering I hope! I am really in need of cleaning my craft area and am in the process of looking for a nice  and pretty sturdy table (that can be painted to match my vintage dresser) to replace my make shift craft table. I will be hitting the thrift stores every week until I find one. I am on a mission and hope to find one before the floor is done.

On a baking note…it is really wonderful to taste summer in the middle of winter. I came across a recipe for this tropical tasting cake on Pinterest (where else?!).

This cake was dense, yet moist. The orange and coconut flavors came through beautifully. Not too strong and not too weak. Just right! To check out the recipe please head over to http://www.rotinrice.com This cake is amazing and great for those that are not let’s say…chocolate lovers.

I wanted to practice packaging my cake so my co workers were my guinea pigs. (Thanks, guys!) This is what I came up with…purty rustic but cute!

I have this beautiful waxed paper from Martha Stewart that I purchased on clearance a few years ago from Valentine’s Day and I have yet to use it all! I also have this sturdy twine that I purchased from Pick Your Plum and it’s so cute! Always check out the clearance sections…you will find some great stuff there!

Besos,

Flor

About Flor

Hola! I'm Flor. Forty-something, wife, mom, amateur baker, amateur home cook, self professed craftinista, Elvis loving chick. This blog is about my journey through the everyday life. I hope you find some inspiration here! All posts and opinions are solely mine.

Leave a Reply

