Home Made Essential Oil Air Fresheners

Standard

Hola!

Happy Wednesday! It’s been pretty busy at my house so I’ve started posting about every other day until we  my husband gets the basement floor done. He has a portion of the main room done. My daughter and I are helping with the cleaning of walls and that kind of small stuff. I have TONS of craft stuff that I need to box up so that I can move it over to the other side once he needs to do my craft area. I didn’t realize I had so much stuff! OK…I’m lying! I have a lot of stuff. I’ve already filled about 4 boxes with craft supplies I will be putting in a consignment sale in August…I need to learn to let go of unnecessary items. The bad thing is I’m always finding ways to recycle and re-use things!

So, as far as weight goes…I lost 1/2 pound last week. Not bad! I was so worried and was so upset because last week I really ATE! I had pizza, chocolate and just sinful things! I was lucky!

Take these mason jars for example…I used them to hold my home made air freshener!

These air fresheners were easy to make and could you believe I had all the supplies on hand! Shocking, huh???? They worked quite well and are natural. I have had them since about the end of December. They have of course shrunk since then and will probably last another two weeks or so…then I will repurpose my jars again!

Ingredients:

  • 1 ounce, weight Unsweetened, Unflavored Gelatin (equivalent To 4 Envelopes Of Knox Powdered Gelatin)
  • 2 cups Cold Water, Divided
  • 1 Tablespoon Salt (or A Splash Of Vodka- To Deter Mold Growth)
  • 20 drops To 30 Drops Essential Oil
  • ___
  • OPTIONAL:
  • Food Coloring To Tint The Air Fresheners
  • ___
  • ADDITIONAL MATERIALS:
  • Disposable Chopsticks Or Skewers To Stir The Hot Gelatin Mixture In The Jars
  • Decorative Heat-proof Jars To Hold The Gelatin Mixture

Directions:

Bring one cup of water to a boil in a small saucepan. Sprinkle the gelatin over the boiling water and whisk until smooth and all the gelatin is dissolved. Add the salt and the second cup of cold water and whisk. Set aside.

Add the desired amount of essential oil and food coloring, if using, to the jar(s). Quickly pour the hot liquid gelatin over the essential oil and food coloring. Stir until evenly colored.

Allow to cool, uncovered on a heat-proof surface. When it reaches room temperature, place wherever you want a lovely scent.

I think I will be making another batch of these since they are natural and better than spraying all that other stuff all over the house. They make adorable gifts too!

Besos,

Flor

Originally from http://www.tastykitchen.com

Leave a Reply

