Puerto Rican Beans

Standard

Hola!

Happy Friday! It’s been a busy week! My husband is done with half of the basement floor. I’ve been moving some of my stuff from one side of the basement to the other. I still have some more to move. I will continue to de clutter as I put things back in a week or so when he puts the floor on “my side”. I can’t wait! It will be a clean, clear area to craft and get inspired!

I have a quick and hearty meal to share! I have to say that http://www.skinnytaste.com has truly been an inspiration for weight loss. I started making recipes from Gina’s blog three years ago when I lost thirty pounds. Her meals are delicious, easy and family friendly.

I love that many of her recipes fill my craving for Hispanic or Latino food. It may not taste exactly the same as a meal my mom or favorite  Mexican restaraunt would serve because it is healthy and may not contain the exact same ingredients, but it definitely hits the spot when I am watchin’ my weight…and hopefully watchin’ it leave!
SOFRITO Ingredients

  • 1/2 small onion
  • 1/2 cubanelle (banana) pepper
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 2 tbsp chopped cilantro
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 15.5 oz can pink beans
  • 1/2 cup tomato sauce
  • 1 medium potato, peeled and diced into 1/4 pieces
  • 1 packet sazón
  • 1 bay leaf
  • pinch oregano
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

In a mini food processor, chop onions, garlic, pepper and cilantro. Add oil to a medium saucepan and saute the chopped ingredients about 2 minutes. Drain and rinse the beans and add to the saucepan along with sofrito with 3/4 cup of water. Add tomato sauce, potato, sazón, bay leaf, oregano, salt and pepper. Cover and simmer on low for about 15 minutes.

I like serving this over white or brown rice so that I am sure my tummy gets nice and full! Give it a try!

Besos,

Flor

Leave a Reply

