Low Fat Irish Soda Bread

Standard

Hola!

Happy Wednesday! OMG! The weather yesterday was BEAUTIFUL! I felt like I was on the beach with the breeze….today is supposed to be beautiful too!! I hope this is not just a tease. Let me tell you…watching my weight has been super hard this past week too. I did not lose anything, but I didn’t gain either.  I have been having a very hard time lately and think I might have to just put myself in my place and get it together for real! I am dying to buy something new for myself  but need to wait until I see a significant change in my weight. I can do it, I can do it!

What I can do is make good Irish Soda Bread! It’s so easy that anyone can make good Irish Soda Bread.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 4 tbsp sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups 1% buttermilk
  • 3 oz (2/3 cup) raisins

Directions
Preheat oven to 375°.

Mix all dry ingredients (first 5) in a large bowl with a whisk. Slowly add buttermilk stirring with a wooden spoon until a soft dough is formed. Add raisins, knead the dough lightly on a sheet of wax paper or a floured surface for about 1 minute. Form into a round, slightly flattened shape.

Place on a cookie sheet with a silicone baking mat or parchment paper. Using a sharp knife, make an X at the top about 1/2 inch deep. Bake about 40 minutes, until golden. To test if it’s done, insert a toothpick into the bread, if it comes out clean it is done. Let it cool on a bakers rack for about 5-10 minutes before serving.

It’s really good with some nice warm coffee or tea.

Corned beef is an interesting looking meal. I have never made corned beef before but was inspired by a friend at work to make it. I have only ever had it once and that was when I was pregnant with my son…20 years ago. For some reason I just had to try it back then. It was good, but I have never had it again. I have my corned beef already and will be making it in my crock pot this year. I have never gone out to drink green beer, so on the 17th I will make my own green beer here at home to go with that corned beef. Maybe I could convince my husband to go out that night…

Besos,

Flor

Recipe from http://www.skinnytaste.com

About Flor

Hola! I'm Flor. Forty-something, wife, mom, amateur baker, amateur home cook, self professed craftinista, Elvis loving chick. This blog is about my journey through the everyday life. I hope you find some inspiration here! All posts and opinions are solely mine.

Leave a Reply

