Shrimp Creole

Standard

Hola!

Hello, Friday! It seems like it’s been a long week! Yesterday I took my daughter and her friend to look for prom dresses and was totally disappointed. There was absolutely nothing they liked! They had tons of short dresses that were gorgeous but they were looking for long dresses and there was nothing even close to what they liked! I guess that means a trip to a mall every week until we find the perfect dress. And worse…we stopped at DSW because I need to by some cute black flats…I couldn’t find any I liked! Really? At DSW, a shoe warehouse and I couldn’t find shoes. I think something is wrong with me! I guess this will be an ongoing issue!

I absolutely love shrimp! It can be fried, sauteed, broiled, boiled, stewed…either way it is delicious. Now with Lent here it is in high demand on Friday evenings for dinner.

This was really good! I like anything creole or cajun. I really like the spiciness! I kind of got carried away with the creole/cajun seasoning for this dish but it was just right for me…not so much for everyone else! They still enjoyed it!

Ingredients:

  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 cup celery, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 14-ounce can of diced tomatoes
  • 8 oz tomato sauce
  • 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp Cajun Seasoning such as Slap Your Mama (more or less to taste) (I used Tony Chachere’s Original Creole Seasonsing)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 tbsp of all purpose flour (1 tsp corn starch for gluten-free)
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 1 lb of large shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tsp hot sauce, to taste
  • 1 medium scallion, sliced
  • 2 tbsp fresh parsley, chopped
  • salt to taste

Directions:

In a large skillet heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the chopped onion, green bell pepper, garlic and celery and saute until tender. Add tomatoes and tomato sauce, cayenne pepper, cajun spice, bay leaf and bring to a boil. Cover and reduce heat to low and simmer 20-30 minutes.

Make a slurry of the flour and water and stir into the tomato mixture. Continue cooking for another 5 minutes. Lightly season the shrimp with the Cajun seasoning and add immediately to the tomato mixture. Add Worcestershire sauce and hot sauce; stir together. Cook for another 5 to 6 minutes, or until shrimp is opaque and cooked through, adjust salt if needed.

Add chopped green onion and parsley and serve.

Of course I didn’t have any green onion or parsley on hand so I just omitted it. It was still delicious! For some reason this reminds me of Elvis…you know,,,King Creole?

Have a great day!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe from: http://www.skinnytaste.com

About Flor

Hola! I'm Flor. Forty-something, wife, mom, amateur baker, amateur home cook, self professed craftinista, Elvis loving chick. This blog is about my journey through the everyday life. I hope you find some inspiration here! All posts and opinions are solely mine.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

