Homemade Lotion Bars

Standard

Hola!

I hope e everyone had a great weekend! I had a wonderful weekend! I visited my son this weekend at school for just a few hours. Needless to say he couldn’t wait until I left! Our basement floor is done so I was able to put 99% of my craft room together on Saturday night! I am so excited to start crafting again. I still have about 3 bins full of “non-craft” stuff that I need to organize. For each of my children I keep rubbermaid bins that I put all of their “memories” in and I need to organize all 3 of those “non-craft” stuff into each of their rubbermaid bins. I have such a hard time throwing out stuff that they have made….I am sure I am not the only mom who has a hard time.I just hope that whenever I give each of them their bins that they keep all the stuff I have so lovingly put away for them! Yesterday we went to one of my best friends sons birthday party. We had such a great time!

I have the world’s driest, cracked fingers ever!  When my children were little  I had gone to the doctor and the dermatologist and they said I had “mommy hands”. It is supposedly from so much washing, cleaning without using gloves. I just cannot clean with gloves on! I feel like whatever I am cleaning is not being cleaned properly if my hands don’t actually touch it…weird huh? I was given prescriptions by both the doctor and the dermatologist but none of them worked. My fingers get especially cracked (to the point of bleeding) in the winter. I have bought every lotion on the market and nothing has really worked. When I saw this recipe for the home made lotion bar I thought I would give it a try. Of course I had everything on hand!

I was super excited to make these because I was able to use my vintage jello molds to mold these bars into beautiful little works of art! They are so beautiful they look like you can eat them!

This certainly did not “heal” my dry skin but it sure helped! It made my hands soft and felt so much better. I am sure you can use them all over your skin, but I haven’t done that yet.

EVERYMAN’S LOTION BAR RECIPE

1 part vegetable shortening
1 part vegetable oil
1 part beeswax

Melt the shortening and beeswax a double boiler or a little pan in a bigger pan of simmering water. Stir in the vegetable oil. Pour into cups/molds and let cool. Pop out of “mold” and it’s ready to use. The beeswax will fragrance the bars with a nice, light honey smell, or you can stir in a little essential oil before you pour it into the molds.

I used some orange oil in one batch and lavender oil in another batch. They both smell divine. I actually packaged some of these and have given them away as gifts. They were a big hit and people didn’t believe that I had made them! I don’t think I will ever go back to store bought hand lotion again!

Get crafty, people!

Besos,

Flor

Inspired by http://www.littlehouseinthesuburbs.com

 

 

About Flor

Hola! I'm Flor. Forty-something, wife, mom, amateur baker, amateur home cook, self professed craftinista, Elvis loving chick. This blog is about my journey through the everyday life. I hope you find some inspiration here! All posts and opinions are solely mine.

Leave a Reply

