Mexican Quinoa Salad

Standard

Hola!

OMG! I am so tired! I have worked only two days and I can’t handle it! On Monday I came home, didn’t even cook! We had left overs then I took a two hour nap. Then I woke up only to see William Levy on Dancing with the Stars. Ay Ay Ay! I believe he has convinced me to watch it every Monday from now on…what a man! Tuesday I woke up late. Maybe it was because of all the excitement from William Levy!

While I was on break last week I made something I had never tasted or barely heard of…quinoa. I was looking for meatless recipes to make my husband and I found several for quinoa.

These little globular granules were delicious! Soft and silky to the tongue…I think I am going a bit overboard but I really may not be exaggerating!

 

Ingredients:

Dressing:
1 1/2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons white wine vinegar
salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Salad:
1 cup dry quinoa, rinsed well through a fine strainer/sieve
1 cup halved cherry tomatoes
3/4 to 1 cup fresh corn (sliced off the cob, raw)
1/4 cup finely chopped cilantro
lime wedges
salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Directions:

1. Whisk the dressing ingredients together in a small bowl. Set aside.

2. Prepare the quinoa according to package directions. Cool slightly.

3. In a medium bowl, toss the quinoa with the tomatoes, corn and cilantro. Add the dressing and toss to coat everything. Squeeze lime on top, and season with salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste.

4. Serve with lime wedges, for individual squeezing.

 I didn’t have any cherry tomatoes so I used 2 chopped tomatoes. I didn’t have corn so I just omitted it.
We couldn’t stop eating it. Between my husband I we ate the whole bowl. I think this super healthy food source will be a staple in my kitchen.
I have met many people who are afraid to go out of their comfort zone when it comes to food, but just trying one new food will open up a whole new world. Try it….expand your horizons!
I weighed in and it seems that I have lost (according to my scale) five pounds last week. I just don’t believe it.I didn’t eat a lot. I only ate two meals a day and no snacks but that just seems wrong. That brings me to a total of 17 pounds lost. I haven’t even started walking…I am a big procrastinator!
Besos,
Flor

 

Leave a Reply

