Scrapbooking Saturday-Locks of Love

Standard

Felíz Saturday!

I am so glad the weekend is here! What are your plans? Are you doing anything exciting? I would love to hear about it!

I have always tried to teach my children about the importance of giving and being compassionate. I feel like if we start teaching this at an early age it will las a lifetime.

At the beginning of this current school year my Julieta needed a haircut BAD! Her hair was quite long but being that she is not a morning person it didn’t quite work with her. So when I mentioned her getting a haircut I also mentioned Locks of Love. Locks of Love is a public non-profit organization that provides hairpieces to financially disadvantaged children in the United States and Canada under age 21 suffering from long-term medical hair loss from any diagnosis. This was the perfect way of teaching her about helping others. We checked out their website at www.locksoflove.org to find out what the “rules” were. She decided to do it and took the plunge! She had just enough in length from tip to tip (10 inches) to donate. I am so very proud of her. She did a totally wonderful thing. Instead of the hair being disposed of it went to help someone. Most importantly she was proud of herself and had a sense of compassion and helping others.

I try to have my kids join clubs at their schools that promote fundraising  and learning about good causes. Sometimes they want to do it sometimes they don’t. Sometimes a nudge helps and sometimes you just have to let them decide and hopefully they will make the right choice. If not maybe they need a little time to grow into it!

Have a great weekend!

Besos,

Flor

Leave a Reply

