Reading Adventures-One Hundred Years of Solitude

Standard

Hola!

Happy Monday! I hope you all enjoyed your weekend! I had a great and busy weekend! I babysat my nephews and niece this weekend and had a very tiring but rewarding experience! My arms actually hurt from picking my niece up. Maybe it will build some much needed muscle! It was great playing with them and getting hugs and kisses for no reason! I was exhausted when I came home but it was well worth it!

I finally finished reading “One Hundred Years of Solitude” by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. It was absolutely excellent!

It took me a long time to read (just like any other book lately) but it was well worth not abandoning. I’ve heard that if in three days you are not enjoying the book to give it up…this one should not be given up. Written on the last page of the book is this:

“Blending the everyday and the miraculous, the historical and the fabulous, psychological realism and surreal flights of fancy,One Hundred Years of Solitude has influenced nearly every important novelist around the world. The rise and fall, birth and death of mythical but intensely real, Macondo and the glories and disaster of the wonderful Buendía family make up an instensely brilliant chronicle of humankind’s comedies and tragedies. All of the many varieties of life are captured here: inventively, amusingly, magnetically, sadly, humorously, luminously, truthfully. One Hundred Years of Solitude has become one of the hallmarks of twentieth-century fiction.

I thought it was kind of hard keeping track of all the names of the male family members, but that just might be me! As I was reading this book I felt like I was right there in Macondo with the Buendía family!

Besos,

Flor

 

 

Leave a Reply

