Vanilla Cupcake with Buttercream and Salted Caramel

Standard

HI!

I saw a recipe on Pinterest for a salted caramel tart and was inspired to make it. So I take out all the necessary ingredients and start making the dough for the crust. I start rolling the dough and of course it’s too dry and nothing I do to it helps but I force it into the tart pan! After putting the crust in the pan I realize I need a tart pan with a removable bottom…really? I don’t have one of those so too bad so sad I put it in the oven anyway. Meanwhile I start making the caramel (from http://www.saveur.com). I get the caramel done and have taken the crust out of the oven to cool. The crust is hideous and all crumbly…so much for making that delicious looking tart. By this time I am smokin’ hot and am going to make something with that darn caramel! I ditch the crust and make these…

I was not going to leave the kitchen without a treat. I made the cupcakes from a box mix and made the buttercream frosting from a Wilton recipe. I injected a bit of caramel into the cupcake and also drizzled the cupcake with the caramel and sprinkled a bit of sea salt on top. They were delicious…something good out of a disaster…I was satisfied!

Happy day to you!

 

Besos,

Flor

 

Leave a Reply

