Turkey & Black Bean Enchiladas

Standard

 

 

Hey! Hey!

I hope everyone had a great Mothers Day weekend. Mine wasn’t too bad! On Saturday we went to my nephews communion. I have to say that the food at the party was absolutely delicious! I wish I had taken a picture of it, but I was so hungry that I didn’t even think of it before digging in!

Sunday was a nice day. We were supposed to go out to breakfast, but since everyone got up a little too late I ended up having to cook…pretty sad! I was able to spend a little time with both my girls when we went to buy some flowers. I used my flowers for a totally cute garden idea! I will share that soon! Then I came home and did some laundry, then ran some errands. The best part was the stop at Gene and Judes Hot Dogs! I love that place! I picked up some dogs and went to my parents house for a bit. Pretty good weekend I guess!

This healthy enchilada recipe is delicious! I absolutely love enchiladas. They typical enchiladas that my mom (and I) make are so not healthy for you. I try not to make them too often. The corn tortillas are lightly dipped in oil (mom uses lard) and filled with delicious shredded Chihuahua cheese with chopped onions. A very simple and humble dish…but oh so delicious! These enchiladas are much healthier for you and maybe a bit more filling.

All that cheesy deliciousness is hypnotizing!


Ingredients:

  • 1 lb extra lean ground turkey
  • 15.5 can black beans, drained
  • 4.5 oz can chopped green chiles
  • 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1-2 tsp cumin
  • 1/8 tsp chili powder
  • salt
  • 8 (6-inch) low carb whole wheat flour tortillas (La Tortilla Factory)
  • 1 cup reduced fat shredded Mexican cheese (I used Weight Watchers)
  • nonstick cooking spray

For the Enchilada Sauce:

  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1-2 tbsp chipotle chiles in adobo sauce
  • 1-1/2 cups tomato sauce
  • 1/2 tsp chipotle chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 3/4 cup fat free chicken broth
  • kosher salt and fresh pepper to taste

Directions:

In a medium saucepan, spray cooking spray and sauté garlic. Add chiles, chili powder, cumin, chicken broth, tomato sauce, salt and pepper. Bring to a boil. Reducethe heat to low and simmer for 5-10 minutes. Set aside until ready to use.

In a large skillet brown the turkey and season with salt. When the turkey is browned,add onion, garlic, black beans, cilantro, green chiles, diced tomatoes, cumin and chili powder. Mix well and simmer on low, covered for 20 minutes. Remove lid andsimmer an additional 5-10 minutes to reduce the liquid.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray a 13 by 9-inch glass baking dish with non-stick spray. Put 1/2 cup turkey mixture into each tortilla and roll it. Place on baking dish seam side down. Top with enchilada sauce and cheese. Cover with aluminum foil and bake in the oven on the middle rack for 20-25 minutes. Top with low fat sour cream, cilantro or scallions if you wish.

These were so good I could have eaten all of them all by myself. You can even just make tacos out of the filling and top with some shredded lettuce, tomatoes and of course some salsa!

Have a great start to your week!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe from http://www.skinnytaste.com

 

Leave a Reply

