Lemon Buttermilk Pound Cake

Standard

Hola!

Happy Monday! I hope everyone had a great weekend! Mine was pretty busy and I need  to rest. My daughter’s prom is over and I am super relieved! Her graduation is on Tuesday and we are ready for this milestone too! Next weekend I am hoping to get some rest!

This past weekend was super hot…86 and 90 degrees. I am not ready for this heat wave. I like having a gradual warm up. Of course today it’s only supposed to be about 65 degrees…only in Chicago!

Last week I kind of started getting a few projects out of the way so that I can relax a bit over summer vacation. I cleaned out my youngest daughters drawers and shopped for some summer clothes for her. I printed out labels for my spice rack and pantry. I am definitely thinking ahead on everything I need to do.

Of course baking is something that is constantly going on in my house. I still bake in the summer but try to do it really early in the morning or late at night so that the kitchen won’t get too hot. Pound cake is so good. The only problem is that is packs on the pounds. I love it with ice cream on top but truthfully I very rarely buy ice cream because my youngest will devour it in a minute.

I made this wonderful pound cake, but had no ice cream to serve with it.

 

Ingredients

– 1 1/2 cups (170g) all-purpose unbleached flour
– 1 tsp baking powder
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 1/2 cup (113g) unsalted butter, slightly soft
– 1 cup (225g) sugar*
– 2 large eggs, at room temperature
– 1/2 cup (approx. 120ml) buttermilk**
– Zest of 1 lemon, finely chopped or grated

Directions

1. Heat the oven to 325°C (160°C). Spray a loaf pan that’s about 8x5x3 inches with a nonstick coating.

2. Whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt until well blended. With an electric mixer, beat the butter until it’s very pale and little tails have formed.

3. Sprinkle in the sugar and beat well until slightly fluffy. Scrape the sides of the bowl well. Add the eggs one at a time, beating until blended before adding the next.

4. With the mixer on low, add about one-third of the flour and mix until almost combined; then add half the buttermilk and mix until just combined. Repeat with another third of flour, and then the last half of the buttermilk, ending with the last third of the flour. Just before all the flour is incorporated, switch from the mixer to a stiff rubber spatula, add the lemon zest, and slowly stir to blend in the flour and zest, taking care to scrape the bowl’s bottom and sides.

5. Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and bake until the cake is golden brown and a toothpick comes out with just a few crumbs clinging to it when inserted in the center, 45 to 50 minutes. Let the cake cool before slicing.

I chose to make mine in mini pound cake loaves sot that I can share it with my family. This was really good. It was delicious with a simple glaze made from a bit of milk, confectioners sugar and vanilla. It would also be delicious with some lemon curd or fresh fruit…MMM…nice and fresh tasting.

Have a great day!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe from http://www.thelittleteochew.com

About Flor

Hola! I'm Flor. Forty-something, wife, mom, amateur baker, amateur home cook, self professed craftinista, Elvis loving chick. This blog is about my journey through the everyday life. I hope you find some inspiration here! All posts and opinions are solely mine.

Leave a Reply

