Agua de Pepino con Limón (Cucumber Lime Cooler)

Standard

Hey!

How is it that one day back at work and I am exhausted after a three-day weekend? I think this weather is wreaking havoc on me and my body! Over the weekend it was in the hight nineties and now it’s like sixty-five degrees? I am just exhausted and if you ask all my friends the weather is to blame for everything. If I am hungry…it’s the weather. If I am tired…it’s the weather…If my knees hurt it’s the weather…but I truly believe the weather certainly has a lot to do with how we feel physically so I will continue to blame the weather.

So I checked out our local fitness facility the other day and don’t know what to do…to join or not? I can’t walk as exercise because my feet hurt so I was thinking that maybe I can do the elliptical or other monstrous machines to get some sort of exercise. I will hopefully be trying it out next week with a friend so that I can make my decision. I am still kind of watching what I eat and have maintained my weight so far, but I would like to add a bit of change with the exercise thing. Wish me luck!

One of the things I miss about going to Mexico in the summer is all the delicious fresh “aguas”. There’s agua de pepino (cucumber), agua de sandía (watermelon), agua de melón (cantaloupe) and agua de jamaica (hibiscus). These delicious fresh drinks are so refreshing on a hot day; especially when you are sitting in the plaza with your friends just people watching. So since I haven’t been to Mexico in a while I make these drinks at home for my family.

My Julissa especially likes this Agua de Pepino.

Ingredients

1 large cucumber

6 cups water

1/3 cup freshly squeezed lime juice (2-3 limes)

1/3 cup sugar or to taste

 

Directions

Rinse the cucumber well. Leave the skin on, cut off about 1/2 inch from one end, and rub the two flat surfaces against each other (this helps remove any bitterness). Discard the end piece and repeat with the other end.

Slice the cucumber, then put it in  a blender. Add the water and blend until completely pureed. Strain through a fine-mesh sieve into a pitcher, then add the lime juice and sugar and stir until the sugar is completely dissolved. Taste and add more sugar if you like. Refrigerate until completely chilled. Serve over ice.

Makes about 8 cups.

I really like the cucumbery taste in this drink so I actually used 2 cucumbers and peeled them before putting in the blender. I just thought rubbing the surfaces against each other was kind of weird…

This might seem like a lot of work to some people, but it is so worth the healthiness and taste of this delicious drink. Make sure you mix it before serving it in each glass.

This kind of drink just makes me want to go to Mexico…

Besos,

Flor

Recipe from Paletas from author Fany Gerson

 

 

Leave a Reply

