Asian Lettuce Cups

Standard

Happy Monday!

I hope everyone enjoyed their weekend! It was super hot here! The weekend was busy and ended with us at a state beach yesterday. We had a great time with friends and now I am kind of sunburn! I put sunblock on but didn’t really realize the sun was so strong! I even stayed in shade most of the time and I still got a bit sun burned! It will turn into a tan soon!

Today I am starting my six-week challenge. I am going to see the trainer for some tips, so wish me luck!

A couple of years ago we went to an Asian restaurant with my brother and sister-in law and we ordered Asian Lettuce Cups. My kids absolutely loved them. The kept asking me to make them, but to tell you the truth I was kind of intimidated to make them. They were just so good that they had to be difficult to make. I came across this recipe and finally decided to make them because they are WW friendly.

 

They are a perfectly refreshing summer meal! My kids really enjoyed them, so these will be a staple in my house.

Ingredients:
1 1/4 lb. fat-free ground turkey
1 Tbsp vegetable oil
1 clove garlic, minced
1/8 tsp. ground ginger
2/3 cup thinly sliced green onions (about 4)
1 (8 oz) can sliced water chestnuts, drained and coarsely chopped
12 Boston lettuce leaves (I used regular iceberg lettuce.)
3 Tbsp hoisin sauce
2 Tbsp lower-sodium soy sauce (green top)
1 Tbsp rice vinegar
2 tsp. roasted red chili paste
1/8 tsp. salt
Heat 1 tablespoon of oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.  Add turkey, garlic and ginger to the pan and cook for about 6 minutes or until turkey is browned.  Stir to crumble.  Combine turkey mixture, onions and chopped water chestnuts in a large bowl, stirring well, and set aside.
Meanwhile in a small bowl, whisk together hoisin, soy sauce, rice vinegar and roasted red chili paste and drizzle over the turkey mixture.  Toss to coat completely.  Add about 1/4 cup turkey mixture to each lettuce leaf.
This was quick and easy…don’t want to spend the whole summer in the kitchen!
Besos,
Flor
Leave a Reply

