Zesty Avocado Cilantro Buttermilk Dressing

Standard

Hola!

I have been pretty much home all week doing quite a bit of cooking! I have been doing some old school non WW mexican cooking and my family has been absolutely loving it!

I try to make a lot of salads over the summer to take advantage of fresh produce, especially since we have our garden but unfortunately just my husband and I will eat it!.

I have come across many salad dressing recipes that have caught my eyes because they have ingredients that I absolutely love. This Avocado Cilantro Buttermilk Dressing is one of them. I absolutely love avocados and cilantro! They are just so “homey” to me!

This dressing was delish. It was delicious on a healthy salad, it was delicious as a dip and also really good as a spread.

Having delicious dressings on hand kind of motivate me to eat a little healthier…or to at least have a salad once in a great while. I was looking for something to put the dressing in that was “pretty” so I pulled out this great container. I guess it’s a snifter? I was so excited when I found it at an estate sale along with 10 little matching glasses for like five dollars. I love finding great stuff like this! It has so many purposes! The initials or lettering on it spell “ours” so it was just right for us!

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup low-fat buttermilk
  • 1 small jalapeno, seeds removed, leave them in if you want it spicy
  • 1/4 cup of fresh cilantro
  • 1 medium haas avocado
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 2 tbsp chopped scallion
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1/8 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp fresh ground pepper
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt

Directions:

Combine all the ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. For a thinner dressing add more buttermilk, for a thicker dip use less.

Once in a while (it should be more often) salads are really good for you!

Besos,

Flor

 

Recipe from http://www.skinnytaste.com

 

Leave a Reply

