A Drink a Day…Day One…Agua de Limón con Chía

Standard

Hola!

Happy Monday!  I hope everyone had a great weekend. The weekend was pretty busy here. I went to the Long Grove Strawberry Festival on Friday. On Saturday I did some cooking and ran some errands. I ended the night with a quick date with my husband to eat at a local place called Romano’s. I love going there. Everything I have eaten there is delicious and totally inexpensive. I topped off the night with a delicious gelato. I guess I should work out really hard now! Sunday I was in LaGrange doing some antique shopping and running errands again.

This summer has been very hot already…and it’s going to get hotter…at least that is what the weather man says! Since we drink so much liquid in the hot weather I try my hardest to make different drinks so that my family doesn’t get bored of drinking the same thing.

I absolutely love this agua fresca!

I very rarely drink pop any more…which is kind of sad, but I guess it makes for a healthier me. I guess if Coke or Diet Coke can wash a truck engine I really shouldn’t be drinking it!

Ingredients

3 large limes, quartered

4 cups water

1/2 cup sugar, or more if needed

1/4 cup chia seeds

 

Directions

Put the limes, water and sugar in a blender and pulse just enough to extract the juice from the limes but not crush the skins (which makes the drink too bitter). Strain through a fine-mesh sieve into a pitcher. Taste and add more sugar if needed.

Whisk in chia seeds and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes, until completely chilled. Stir before serving, then serve over ice.

Makes about 5 cups.

Some of us love it with the chia seeds and some of us don’t. Feel free to omit the chia seeds. The agua fresca is just as good without them. This drink will keep you nice and cool in this hot weather.

 

Recipe from “Paletas” by Fany Gerson

Leave a Reply

