A Drink a Day…Day Three…Agua de Jamaica

Standard

Hola!

Happy Wednesday! I feel like a taxi driver! Dropping and picking up at work, running errands…It’s never ending! I went out and came home about seven times yesterday…never ends. That’s ok because I’m on vacation so I have all day to run around if need be!

I practiced my sewing most of the evening yesterday and I must say I am getting better. I will have to practice a lot so that I can make something nice. I think my son felt bad for me because he told me that if I make him a pillowcase with musical notes on it he will use it…thanks for the support! Now I really have to figure out this darn pillow case thing! I made a giant mess! Oh well, I guess I will clean up tomorrow. That’s one of the benefits of being on vacation.

It’s going to be pretty hot today and tomorrow so make sure you stay hydrated. This beautiful rosy drink will help! Just in case anyone wants to know the pronunciation of jamaica in Spanish it is ha-MIKE-uh, not like the beautiful place Jamaica in English.

Ingredients

1 cup dried hibiscus flowers

4 cups water

1/3 cup sugar, or more if needed

Directions

Rinse the flowers in cold water and drain thoroughly. Put them in a saucepan, cover with water , and let steep for at least 4 hours or overnight.

Bring mixture to a boil over medium heat, then lower the heat and simmer for 10 minutes. Stir in the sugar and continue to cook , stirring, until the sugar dissolves. Let cool at room temperature. Strain through a fine mes sieve into a pitcher, pressing the solids with the back of a wooden spoon to extract as much liquid as possible. Add water to bring the volume up to 4 cups. If the flavor is too intense, add more water as needed. You can also add sugar to your liking. Refrigerate until completely chilled. Serve as is or over ice and enjoy!

Some of the recipes I have posted will need a little planning in advance. I will usually check my pitchers the night before and start getting everything ready so that I can make a fresh pitcher of agua fresca the next day. It is so worth the planning!

Have a great day!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe from “Paletas” by Fany Gerson

 

Leave a Reply

