A Drink a Day…Day Four…Agua de Tamarindo

Standard

 

Hey!

How many of you exercise regularly? How do you schedule it into your day? Do you do cardio or muscle strengthening? I have succeeded in going to the health club at least four times a week. It’s been hard. I’m having a hard time in deciding what time to go. I would love to go in the mornings so that I get up early but I am not  a big breakfast eater and it is really important to eat and allow at least an hour for your food to digest then workout but that’s kind of hard for me. On the other hand going in the evening is kind of sucky too. I have kind of gone around my daughters work schedule. I’ve also had a hard time deciding as to whether I should do just cardio or muscle strengthening. So what I started doing was half and hour on the tread mill and then the half hour circuit training. So far so good…but as I type this my arms are killing me! I would love any advice anyone has about exercising and what works best for them!

This agua de tamarindo may not be the most beautiful drink I have seen, but it is tasty!

Ingredients

10 oz. tamarind pods (about 10 large pods)

4 cups water

1/2 cup sugar, or more if needed.

 

Directions

Peel the tamarind pods by hand and discard the outer shell. It’s ok if there are still little bits of the shell stuck to the flesh, since the beverage will be strained.

Put the tamarind flesh in a saucepan, seeds and all. Add the water, place over medium heat, bringing to a boil. Lower the heat and simmer, stirring occasionally, until the pulp is very soft about 45 minutes.

Strain through a fie-mesh sieve into a pitcher, pressing the solids with the back of a wooden spoon to extract as much pulp as possible. Add the sugar and stir until it dissolves. Taste and add a little more sugar if needed. Let cool to room temperature, then refrigerate until chilled and serve over ice.

You can find tamarind pods in the Hispanic/Latino section of most grocery stores. When you see them you will probably think “yuck” ! Does this really make a delicious drink? And the answer is yes!

It’s going to be 100 degrees here today so I guess it is cleaning day here at home in the cool air! Stay cool and hydrated!

Besos,

Flor

 

Recipe from “Paletas” by Fany Gerson

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

