Jalapeños en Escabeche (Pickled Jalapeños)

Standard

Hola!

Well, I hate to be a complainer or a whiner but here goes! I have had no car since last Thursday. I now have a rental. Our power has been out since Sunday afternoon. I’m at the library right now getting some cool air and typing this up! When it rains it pours. On Sunday we had a strong storm that only lasted about 10-20 minutes but we had 90 mile an hour winds. Needless to say we haven’t really gotten any sleep…I am so discombobulated! Now that I have a rental car at least I can seek out some cool air. They may have to kick me out of here today… I will feel better once I have my power at home back so I can get things done. It’s times like this that really, really make me appreciate everything we have!

Now on to a delicious recipe. These are the kinds of pepper that are usually set out at tables in Mexican restaraunts to nibble on. I don’t know if they are considered appetizers or condiments. They are so good!

These peppers are not “canned” They are meant to be in the refrigerator for a while. Which works out just fine because they go so quickly!

Ingredients

makes about 3 cups of pickles
1/2 cup white vinegar
1/2 cup water
1 bay leaf
2 tablespoons kosher salt
2 teaspoons whole black peppercorns
2 teaspoons honey (optional)
6 jalapeno peppers, sliced into 1/4″ wheels (remove the seeds and white pith if you want them less spicy)
1 carrot, peeled and cut into 1/4″ wheels
1 medium onion, peeled and cut into 16 wedges
6 cloves of garlic, peeled

Put all the ingredients in a non-reactive (stainless steel) saucepan and bring to a boil over medium high heat. Continue boiling until the jalapeños have gone from a vivid green to an earthy olive green. Turn the heat off and allow the jalapeno pickles to cool.

These jalapeno pickles can be stored for a very long time in a sealed container in the fridge.

I can eat these with anything! I even put them in sandwiches (which I very rarely eat). You can cut the pepper any way you want. I also like to cut them int “rajas” or strips. You can also add cauliflower to the mix which is very typical of this recipe. I didn’t have any n hand so I couldn’t add it. As with any recipe feel free to adjust the ingredients to your liking. This is a great recipe for all of you with gardens. It also makes a great gift!

I was supposed to host the Fourth but without power it is just not going to happen. I may just stay home trying to get some sleep in my cooler basement or I will be somewhere where there is air conditioning (Hint: Mom, cook something good so I can spend the day over there!)

If my power doesn’t come back soon I will definitely be here at the library on a daily basis!

Happy Fourth of July!

Besos,

Flor

Find the original recipe here http://norecipes.com/blog/pickled-jalapeno-escabeche-recipe/

Leave a Reply

