Lavender Panna Cotta

Standard

Hola!

Hope you are all doing well and that you enjoyed the Fourth of July! Now that I have power and a car I am feeling much better. Having those things helped me enjoy the Fourth! We went to Arlington Racetrack and had a great time. I wasn’t too thrilled about how hot it was but time with friends, learning about betting on horses and watching the awesome fireworks were great. New things are always fun.

I finally got back to the gym yesterday, I hadn’t been in a week since I didn’t have a car. I have not lost or gained so it’s good.

I do love dessert, any kind of dessert. This one is no exception. I made this dessert right before my daughter’s graduation. I felt so bad that day because everyone came over and I had no food to offer so I offered dessert. I think everyone was fine with that!

This is an excellent dessert. It’s a great hot weather dessert and takes so little time to make. It’s simple yet elegant.

I made some panna cotta for a work lunch and I just love they way they look in these cute little cups! These little “nut cups” are all the rage and I have definitely bought my share of them. You never know when you are going to need them.

Ingredients

5 cups heavy cream
1 1/3 cups milk
2 tablespoons dried lavender flowers
1 1/2 cups sugar
Two 1/2-ounce packets powdered gelatin
Honey, for garnish

 

Directions
1. To make the panna cotta, combine the cream, 1 cup of the milk, and the lavender in a saucepan and bring it to a boil. Take the pan off the heat and stir in the sugar until it dissolves. Strain out the lavender.

2. While the cream mixture is cooling slightly, pour the remaining 1/3 cup cold milk into a small bowl and sprinkle the powdered gelatin over it. Let stand for 5 minutes.

3. Stir the dissolved gelatin into the very warm cream mixture. (If it has become too cool to dissolve the gelatin, set it back on a low flame, stirring continuously, until the gelatin is completely incorporated into the cream.)

4. Pour the panna cotta mixture into individual serving vessels or a single dish. Let sit for at least 6 hours in the refrigerator, undisturbed, on a flat surface. Drizzle the panna cotta lightly with a few drops of honey before serving.

This is certainly going to be made in my kitchen many, many times!

Besos,

Flor

Inspired by Lavender Panna Cotta Recipe | Leite’s Culinaria

Leave a Reply

