Quesadillas de Flor de Calabaza

Standard

Hola!

Happy Monday! This weekend was the bomb! I have been busy. Friday night was a Girls Night Out and I had a fabulous time! Saturday I went to the flea market with my bestie and Julissa. I was so excited because I found my vitrolero. A vitrolero is a big glass barrel /container that is widely used in Mexico for aguas frescas. I can’t wait to fill my vitrolero with my own agua fresca!

Isn’t it awesome! It reminds me of a bee hive. After the garage sale I was also very happy to take all of the unsold items to the donation center. I feel lightened up after that.

Yesterday was my daughter’s birthday. She is eighteen now and I cannot believe my girl is so grown up. She has become an intelligent, outgoing, driven great young lady! We had celebrated on Thursday by going out to dinner.Yesterday we just hung out together and went to the mall. My Julieta and my nephew were still out-of-town with my brother and sister-in-law. The house has been pretty quiet!

She is just a tiny adorable package!

A few weeks ago Eddie had to pull the zucchini plants out. For some reason they were just falling off the vine, but he was able to save the flor de calabaza (zucchini flower?) Right away I decided to make quesadillas de flor de calabaza.

I don’t have a recipe for them, but here goes…

Use only the flowers.Open them ,wash gently and dry with a paper towel. I used a great big bunch because they wilt as they cook. Cut the flowers into strips. Finely chop a tomato, about 1/2 onion and about 2 cloves of garlic. Heat up a bit of olive oil in a large saute pan, add the onion and saute for about 3 minutes, add garlic and saute for another 2 minutes. Then add your tomato. Add a little bit of salt to flavor. Lastly add your flowers and mix and saute all gently for about 5-7 minutes.

Have your sliced or shredded cheese ready. Heat up another pan and place your tortilla in it. Place a bit of cheese ( I use Chihuahua cheese) on one side of the tortilla and top with your warm sauteed zucchini flower mixture. Allow to heat up for about 3 minutes and fold your tortilla over the ingredients. Allow to heat up until cheese starts to melt. Turn the quesadilla over and allow a couple of more minutes for the cheese to melt completely. Don’t allow the tortilla to get hard. You don’t want a crunchy quesadilla!

 

This was so good! The flowers have a very gentle, mild taste. My recipe is kind of a bit of this, bit of that recipe! Don’t add too much tomato or onion because you don’t want to overpower the flavor of the flowers.

Enjoy!

Besos,

Flor

 

Leave a Reply

