Strawberry Lemonade Concentrate

Standard

Hola!

Is it a happy Monday? I will know by the end of the day…My vacation is over and I am back on schedule! I really need to be on a schedule to be productive. So it’s back to work, back to WW points and back to working out at least three times a week. I am ok with that.

This past weekend was very restful…I did nothing!

The garden is going crazy! It’s already yielded eggplants, cucumbers, cabbage, tomatoes, jalapeño peppers and banana peppers. This bunch of deliciousness is sitting on my counter right now! My job is to do something with it real soon. Maybe some canning and lots of fresh salad fixings! I guess my weekend is booked in the kitchen for next weekend.

This is just a very small portion of the current harvest of vegetables!

During the hot weather we consume a lot of liquid…as we should! This strawberry lemonade concentrate is delicious!

 

The color of this concentrate is just beautiful!

Strawberry Lemonade Concentrate

Ingredients

*2 quarts strawberries, washed & hulled
*2 cups fresh lemon juice (about 20 lemons squeezed)
*2 3/4 cups of sugar
*1 1/2 quarts water
* you will need a large nonreactive pot

 Directions

Wash and hull strawberries, then place them into a food processor (I used a blender). Blend berries until smooth. Place the pureed strawberries, lemon juice, sugar and 1 1/2 quarts of water into a very large nonreactive pot. Heat over medium heat, stirring occasionally until mixture reaches 165′. Make sure you do not boil. Skim off any foam from the top and allow concentrate to cool completely before transferring to canning jars. You may want to strain the concentrate through a strainer before putting into jars. There will be a lot of pulp and seeds.

 Before serving concentrate mix 1 part concentrate with 2 parts water, or go by taste. Concentrate can be stored in the refrigerator for about 1 week or place into the freezer for longer storage.

Makes about 3 1/2 quarts.
I put my concentrate in plastic containers and put in the freezer. I should have just out them in the fridge…that’s how fast this delicious drink was consumed!
Besos,
Flor
Inspired by http://www.2littlehooligans.com/
Leave a Reply

