Purple Cabbage Salad

Standard

Hey!

What’s up?! I hope you had a fun but relaxing weekend! It was a busy weekend here. My birthday on Saturday turned out to be pretty boring! It was very disappointing! That’s life …not everyday could be fun! Otherwise it was quite busy with regular, routine stuff.

I have been eating a lot of this salad. Not because I have to but because I can’t stop eating it! All I ever eat are green salads with spinach, iceberg lettuce or romaine lettuce. I had bought a purple cabbage just to try something new, but I didn’t know what to do with it. Of course I looked up a recipe on line and now I can’t stop eating it.

I have always had an issue with any salad having fruit in it. This salad has totally changed that.

Purple Cabbage Salad

Ingredients

16 ounces shredded purple cabbage
1/3 cup chopped scallions
1/3 cup pine nuts
3 carrots, julienned, or 1 (8-ounce) bag shredded carrots
1 (11-ounce) can mandarin oranges, reserving liquid
1-2 handfuls dried cranberries (can be sweetened kind)

Dressing 

4 tablespoons brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt
4 tablespoons red wine vinegar
1 tablespoon reserved mandarin orange liquid
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 teaspoon parve chicken consomme powder
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

 

Directions

1. Place the cabbage, scallions, pine nuts, carrots, oranges and cranberries into a large ziplock bag. Set aside.
2. In a jar or cruet, mix the brown sugar, pepper, salt, vinegar, reserved liquid from the oranges, oil, consomme powder, and garlic powder.

I didn’t have the pine nuts or cranberries so I just omitted them. I am sure this salad would have tasted even better with those ingredients. The dressing is absolutely wonderful too. This salad stayed nice and crunchy in the fridge for about 2 or 3 days.

You need to try this salad. I am positive it will become a favorite of yours too!

Besos,

Flor
Recipe from:  www.epicurious.com

About Flor

Hola! I'm Flor. Forty-something, wife, mom, amateur baker, amateur home cook, self professed craftinista, Elvis loving chick. This blog is about my journey through the everyday life. I hope you find some inspiration here! All posts and opinions are solely mine.

Leave a Reply

