BBQ Pulled Chicken & a packed car!

Standard

Hola!

I feel like I’ve been missing in action everywhere lately! I have been so sick since Sunday evening. I don’t know if it was the flu, a sinus infection or just a super bad cold but I am still carrying the remnants of it around . All week I’ve done nothing but lay around. I think I’ve been not just sick but also sad because today was coming around fast! Today is they day we are taking Julissa to Wisconsin. I hope I don’t cry in front of her! Who am I kidding? I am going to cry in front of her and everyone else and I don’t care one bit. Watch out Carroll University…here comes Julissa Rojas…be ready for a big personality in an itty bitty body!

This is what my truck looked like after we packed it up..It didn’t really seem like too much.

Wisconsin or Bust!

There was just enough room for us to fit.

Now to something happier-FOOD!

Chicken is such a versatile meat. You can barbeque, bake, broast, boil it, stew it…so many delicious recipes to make with it! I truly love my crockpot. I love coming home to a hot meal that I did not slave over…

BBQ Pulled Chicken

  • 1 8-ounce can reduced-sodium tomato sauce
  • 1 4-ounce can chopped green chiles, drained
  • 3 tablespoons cider vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 tablespoon sweet or smoked paprika
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 teaspoons dry mustard
  • 1 teaspoon ground chipotle chile
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 1/2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken thighs, trimmed of fat
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced

Directions

  1. Stir tomato sauce, chiles, vinegar, honey, paprika, tomato paste, Worcestershire sauce, mustard, ground chipotle and salt in a 6-quart slow cooker until smooth. Add chicken, onion and garlic; stir to combine.
  2. Put the lid on and cook on low until the chicken can be pulled apart, about 5 hours.
  3. Transfer the chicken to a cutting board and shred with a fork. Return the chicken to the sauce, stir well and serve.

This was really good. I should have added chips or a side but as you can see I heaped the meat on! It’s the perfect meal for a hectic day and evening.

Besos,

Flor

Recipe from: http://www.eatingwell.com

Leave a Reply

