Sour Cream Coffee Cake with Apple Nut Filling

Standard

Hola!

I was thinking about how I learned to cook. I pretty much just taught myself with trial and error and trying different recipes. I am not the world’s best home cook, but I think I am pretty good. The sheer fact that my family is still alive is proof of that! I enjoy cooking and trying new recipes. I have tried to instill the ‘love’ of cooking in my children. I hope that I have instilled in them the importance of enjoying a homemade meal  as a family . I hope they know that a homemade meal is a sign of love! I hope that my girls and my son have picked up the at least the” like” of cooking. They don’t have to love it but at least be able to cook a healthy meal to survive…I know my son has learned something since he cooks for himself while he is away at school. We’ll see what happens with my girls! Ever since they were little they kind of have watched me and I did my best to explain cooking stuff to them.

Check out this oldie but goodie…it’s the first cook book I ever purchased!

I have bought and given away many cookbooks, but this one I can’t seem to let go of! Just look at it. It’s faded, dirty and old but oh so loved!

This recipe I am posting comes from this cookbook. It is the perfect recipe for September, apple picking time, fall. It’s just got a homey taste to it!

Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Ingredients

Apple Nut Filling (recipe below)

1 1/2 cups sugar

3/4 cup margarine or butter, softened

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

3 eggs

3 cups all-purpose flour or whole wheat flour (I used whole wheat)

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

3/4 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 cups sour cream

Glaze (recipe below)

Directions

Heat oven to 325 degrees. Grease tube pan 10×4 or 12 cup bundt pan. Prepare one of the fillings; reserve. Beat sugar, margarine, vanilla and eggs in a large bowl on medium speed, scraping bowl occasionally, 2 minutes. Beat in flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt alternately with sour cream on low-speed.

Spread 1/2 of the batter (about 2 cups) in pan; sprinkle with 1/3 of the filling. Repeat 2 times. Bake until wooden pick inserted near center comes out clean, about 1 hour; cool 20 minutes. Remove from pan; drizzle with glaze.

Apple Nut Filling

1 1/2 cups chopped apples

1/3 cup packed brown sugar

1 tablespoon all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons margarine or butter

1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup finely chopped nuts.

Cook all ingredients except nuts over medium heat, stirring constantly, until apples are tender, 3-4 minutes;stir in nuts.

Glaze

Mix 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 1/4 teaspoon vanilla and 1 to 2 teaspoons milk until smooth.

One cake should equal 16 servings at 355 calories per serving

Pull your kids into the kitchen with you. Not only will you spend time together, but they will get some of the best lessons of their life in the kitchen!

Happy Wednesday!

Besos,

Flor

 

Leave a Reply

