Pumpkin Pancakes

Standard

Hola!

I just wanted you to know something…I have a kind of obsession with pumpkins. They are so cute, orange and round though some are oddly shaped I still love them all! I love them so much that I just want to jump on them but I really don’t want to hurt myself. So instead I will show my pumpkin love by cooking with them.

Last Sunday I celebrated the upcoming fall season by making pumpkin pancakes for breakfast.

I mixed up the batch of pancake mix but only made half of the batch. I had stored the rest of the mix in the fridge. We made breakfast for dinner during the week and the pancakes were just as good.

Ingredients: 

  • 3 cups flour
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp. ginger
  • 3 Tbsp. brown sugar
  • 1 (15 oz) can Libby’s pure pumpkin
  • 3 cups buttermilk
  • 3 eggs
Directions:
  1. In a large bowl, mix together flour, salt, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and brown sugar, combining well.
  2. Add pumpkin, buttermilk, and eggs to dry ingredients and mix gently. {If batter seems stiff, add water until it can be easily spooned onto a griddle.}
  3. Heat griddle to medium heat and grease lightly.
  4. Scoop about 1/3 cup of batter onto griddle and let cook until lightly browned, about 3 minutes.
  5. Let other side cook again until lightly browned.
  6. Repeat these steps until all the batter is gone.

I served these with maple syrup and some eggs on the side.

Pumpkins aren’t just for decorating….use them for cooking. The bounty of autumn is wonderful…just don’t hut yourself by jumping on the pumpkins!

Besos,

Flor

 

Recipe from http://highheelsandgrills.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

