Champurrado

Standard

Hey!

This week has been kind of “bah”! I got a flu shot the other day and yesterday I could hardly swallow my throat hurt so much. I am blaming it on the flu shot. Yesterday the weather wasn’t so bad until later in the afternoon when it started raining. I just have felt drained all week long and I do blame it on the change in weather. Our washer and dryer both broke between last weekend and the day before yesterday. My husband has been looking for information on fixing the machines and success….he fixed both of them! I am lucky that My Man is so handy! So needless to say I had tons of laundry waiting for me today.

I had absolutely no desire to cook yesterday since I knew I would be doing laundry all evening. So My Man ordered us a pizza. I also had a taste for Champurrado which is like Mexican hot chocolate but a bit thicker. I have never been a drinker of Champurrado (though my son enjoys it). I just had a craving for it and for the warmth for my throat.

It was delicious. Especially in my fancy crystal mugs! It was sweet but not too sweet with a slight taste of maseca…mmm!  I think it is going to be a regular staple in our house now.

Champurrado

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups water
  • 3 cups milk
  • 1 tablet Abuelita Chocolate, cut up
  • 1/2 cup Maseca
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup sugar

Directions:
In a 2-quart saucepan, heat the water and milk until lukewarm over medium heat.  Add the Abuelita chocolate.  Let soak for a couple of minutes, until the chocolate begins to melt.  Using a wire whisk, beat lightly to dissolve the chocolate.  Keep whisking until chocolate has dissolved.  Stir in sugar.Whisk in the Maseca.  Increase the heat to high and whisk the Champurrado until slightly thickened.  Remove from heat.

Whatever you do, please use Abuelita Chocolate. It is the best Mexican Chocolate on the market that I have ever had! I’m not even going to tell you what to serve it with but I do suggest Mexican sweet bread, Mexican cookies, Tamales and if you want even pizza!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe from http://www.lacocinadeleslie.com/

 

Leave a Reply

