Sweet Potato Biscuits

Standard

Buenos Diás!

Even though I was off on Monday this week is dragging. I am just exhausted and I haven’t done anything so strenuous. I feel like I’ve run a marathon or something!

Every Thanksgiving I usually buy the packaged rolls that need to be baked in the oven a few minutes. This year I.Will.Not. Make.Those.Rolls. I am determined to make my bread or rolls from scratch. I will make my delicious bread on Wednesday before Thanksgiving along with all my desserts. These particular biscuits are delicious. You can eat them with your meal, dessert, brunch or just a snack.

These were really good slathered in cooked mashed sweet potato spiced with cinnamon.

Sweet Potato Biscuits

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour

  • 3 teaspoons baking powder

  • 2 teaspoons white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt

  • 2 tablespoons shortening

  • 3/4 cup mashed sweet potatoes
  • 1/4 cup milk

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C).
  2. In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder, sugar and salt. Cut in the shortening until pieces of shortening are pea-sized or smaller. Mix in the sweet potatoes, and enough of the milk to make a soft dough.
  3. Turn dough out onto a floured surface, and roll or pat out to 1/2 inch thickness. Cut into circles using a biscuit cutter or a drinking glass. Place biscuits 1 inch apart onto a greased baking sheet.
  4. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes in the preheated oven, or until golden brown.

If you have left over sweet potatoes…don’t throw them out…make these delicious biscuits!

Feliz día!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe from http://allrecipes.com/

 

Leave a Reply

