Eggnog Muffins

Standard

Hola!

What’s up? What’s the good word? I’ve just got one word this week-tired! Getting back to work after having been off for five days is ROUGH! I have not been productive at all. I am in the middle of doing so many things that I can’t get anything done. The Christmas tree is up but I’m not done decorating it. I am in the process of putting together our family Christmas cards, I have a pile of ironing to do. I am still reading the same book I started in the summer…my reading adventure is pretty slow. I guess everything will get done eventually. I am not going to worry about it too much.

I need to worry about keeping ingredients for some fo my recipes safe! I have the biggest eggnog lover ever in my home. My Julieta seems to think that I buy eggnog just for her. I must have a quick cup of it before she sees it otherwise nobody will get any. She can drink it all by herself. I can understand why she loves it…it’s creamy and sweet. Add a bit of rum to it and it is divine (for adults of course!).

I had to hurry up and make these muffins before the eggnog disappeared.

These were really good-a bit sweet but not too much sweet. They would look great on a buffet for brunch!

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup dairy eggnog
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon rum extract
  • Nutmeg-Streusel Topping (recipe below)
Directions
  1. Grease twelve 2-1/2-inch muffin cups or line with paper bake cups; set aside. In a medium bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder and nutmeg. Make a well in center of flour mixture; set aside.
  2. In another bowl, combine eggs, eggnog, melted butter, vanilla and rum extract. Add egg mixture all at once to the flour mixture. Stir just until moistened (batter should be lumpy.) Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups, filling each two-thirds full. Sprinkle streusel topping over muffin batter in cups.
  3. Bake in a 375 degree F oven for 18 to 20 minutes or until golden and a wooden toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean. Cool in muffin cups on a wire rack for 5 minutes. Remove from muffin cups; serve warm. Makes 12 muffins.
Nutmeg Streusel Topping
Ingredients
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 2 tablespoons butter
Directions
  1. In small bowl, mix flour, sugar and nutmeg using pastry blender. Cut in butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs.

I am hoping to make another eggnog recipe or two before the season ends if I can hide it away from my daughter long enough.

Besos,

Flor

Recipe from http://www.midwestliving.com/

 

 

Leave a Reply

