Weekend Brunch Casserole

Standard

Happy Monday!

I am lucky enough to be off today! It was a quiet but busy weekend. Saturday was the best day. I took my mom and aunt shopping with me. The best part was the craft store shopping. The worst part was looking for them in every store! I was exhausted but it was well worth it.

Lately I have been obsessed with breakfast meals. For the first 42 years of my life I have hated eggs! I hated the way they looked, tasted and smelled. The story goes that when my sister and I were little my mom worked the day shift and my dad worked the night shift so that they wouldn’t need a sitter. I guess my dad fed us eggs every single day. It was the only thing he knew how to cook. My sister has always loved them and I have always hated them. I blame my dad for that! When I was pregnant with my second child I remember making eggs for my son and having to run to the bathroom in between flipping or stirring them while they cooked. It is the reason I own so many sets of pajamas. Whenever I have had to make eggs I feel like the scent of eggs (fried or scrambled) sticks to me. UGH! It is not until this past year that I have become a regular egg eater. I have made peace with the egg. It is for the best since they are inexpensive, protein filled and easy to cook.It is because eggs and I are friends now that I can make delicious breakfast meals like this one.

This was one delicious casserole and so, so easy to make! This is perfect on a weekend when it is cold and gloomy out! Add a side of pancakes, toast or fruit and you are set for the most important meal of the day.

Weekend Brunch Casserole

Ingredients

  • 1 8-ounce can refrigerated crescent dinner rolls
  • 1 pound Bob Evans Original Recipe Sausage Roll
  • 2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon black pepper

 Directions

    1. Preheat oven to 425 °F. Crumble and cook sausage in medium skillet over medium heat until browned. Drain.
    2. Line bottom of greased 13 x 9 inch baking dish with crescent roll dough, firmly pressing perforations to seal. Sprinkle with sausage and cheese.
    3. Combine remaining ingredients in medium bowl until blended; pour over sausage.
    4. Bake 15 minutes or until set. Let stand 5 minutes before cutting into squares; serve hot. Refrigerate leftovers.

How easy is that ? Don’t forget the salsa! Salsa works great over this casserole. I am proud of myself for not being an egg hater anymore!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe from http://www.culinary.net/

 

Leave a Reply

