Cabbage Patch Soup and a Reading Adventure

Standard

Hola!

What’s going on? Pretty quiet here. It’s been an uneventful week and I should be grateful because that is kind of a good thing. The worst thing that happened was that I went to the podiatrist because my plantar fascitis was acting up. I am really sure you want to hear about my feet. Excuse my french but I am a “shoe whore”. I love shoes!!!! When I was first diagnosed with this horrible thing I rid myself of tons of beautiful shoes. I started buying more expensive, better made sensible shoes to help myself out so of course I have less shoes (though my hubby disagrees). Now it seems that I have heel spurs so I need custom orthotics and if that doesn’t help with the pain I will be moving a step closer to surgery…which I am terrified of getting on my feet! Shoes! I love them! How can this happen to me!? It could be something worse so I really shouldn’t complain so much…thanks for letting me vent! Anyone have any advice?

I am coming into the modern cleaning world by purchasing The Shark mop/steamer. I am getting kind of tired of dragging a bucket and smelly mop around the house. I will be using The Shark for the first time today so I hope it works. I am super excited! I am sooooo lame!

It’s perfect soup weather. I love that it can be made in a giant pot and there is always left overs for the next day. I had some cabbage in the fridge and needed to make something with it so of course I google cabbage recipes and I find this awesome recipe.

Sorry about my ugly pot. This soup was amazing and filling! I couldn’t get enough of it. The original recipe is meant for the crock pot but I adjusted it for stove top cooking.

Cabbage Patch Soup

Ingredients

  • 1 pound ground beef, browned and drained
  • 4 ribs celery, coarsely chopped
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 cup baby carrots, cut in 1/2
  • 2 (15-ounce) cans Ranch Style Beans (with juice)
  • 2 (16-ounce) cans diced tomatoes (with juice)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion salt
  • dash of cayenne pepper
  • 1 to 2 cups water
  • 1/2 head of cabbage, shredded

Directions

  1. Brown ground beef in large pot. After beef is slightly browned add celery, bell pepper, onions and carrots. Allow to cook for about 10 minutes.
  2. Add all other ingredients except cabbage.
  3. Simmer for about 45 minutes or until carrots are a bit softened
  4. Add cabbage and simmer another 15 minutes or so.
  5. Adjust salt to your liking and serve in huge bowls!

Orignal recipe can be found here http://crockingirls.com/recipes/cabbage-patch-soup-2/

My reading adventures are going quite slow. I am also behind in posting them! I tend to read books that just sound good to me or that have nice covers. In this case I was more drawn to the story. The Joy Luck Club was excellent.

 I liked the way the past and the present was woven into this story…it was a great read!

Happy Friday!

Besos,

Flor

 

Leave a Reply

