Apple Crumble Quinoa Parfait

Standard

 

Hola!

Happy Wednesday! I finally made it to the podiatrist and had my feet molded for my orthotics. The Dr. didn’t even laugh when I showed him all my adorable shoes! But what did I do after the appointment? I went to DSW and bought some pointy cute shoes…I had to. I deserve them…let’s see what my feet say later!

I totally consider apples to be a boring everyday fruit. Not very nice, but it’s true. I don’t eat apples too often because they just don’t seem that great to me and I also feel so hungry after I eat them. Weird, huh? Since they are available all year round they are great for baking and cooking with them any time of the year.

This parfait was good and healthy too.

We ate it while it was still warm but let me tell you that it is even better the next day cold.

Apple Crumble Quinoa Parfait

Ingredients

  • 1 cup quinoa, well rinsed
  • 1 3/4 cups water
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 walnuts, chopped
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 4 large apples, peeled, cored and diced
  • 1 cup water or apple cider
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 cups vanilla Greek yogurt

Directions

  1. Bring the quinoa, water and cinnamon to a boil, reduce the heat and simmer, covered, until the water has been absorbed, about 15 minutes and set aside.
  2. Mix the flour, rolled oats, sugar, walnuts, cinnamon and butter, spread in a single layer over a baking pan and bake in a preheated 350F oven until lightly golden brown, about 7-10 minutes and set aside.
  3. Bring the apples, water, sugar, vanilla and cinnamon to a boil, reduce the heat and simmer until the apples are tender and the liquid is syrupy, about 7-10 minutes.
  4. Place 1/4 cup of yogurt into 4 large glasses and top with 1/4 cup quinoa and 1/4 cup of apple compote, repeat with a another set of layers on top off with a tablespoon of the crumble topping.

This was so good that my husband and daughter had second helpings. It’s a great dessert or even breakfast.

Happy Valentine’s! I hope your day is lovey dovey and romantic!

Besos,

Flor

Source http://www.closetcooking.com/

 

Leave a Reply

