Crockpot Parmesan Pork Roast

Standard

Hola!

I should be posting Lenten food, but it just doesn’t seem too exciting to me. I don’t know why I can go without meat any other days of the year, but during Lent I am going crazy trying to figure out what to make on Fridays. It’s usually basic foods like pasta with jarred marinara sauce, quesadillas, eggs and maybe some tuna or tilapia. Not too exciting.

This pork that I am posting is making my mouth water right now, but since it’s Friday and it’s Lent I can’t have it. I made it on a weekend so we can really enjoy it! This is how I served it right after I made it. Just simply.

This pork roast was melt in your mouth delicious. So tender you didn’t een need a knife. I could have drunk the sauce….sooooooo good!

We had left overs so I wanted to add something to it to make it stretch so that there would be enough for all of us. I toasted some delicious organic white bread from Trader Joe’s in a pan and then layered the chopped and shredded roast, mashed potatoes and sauce over it.  I just want to lick the screen!

You need to make this…this weekend and since it’s a crock pot meal you can just throw it in the crock pot in the morning go about your business and it’s ready for dinner!

Crockpot Parmesan Pork Roast

Ingredients

  • 1 boneless whole pork loin roast, about 4 pounds
  • 2/3 c. grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 c. honey
  • 3 Tbsp. soy sauce
  • 2 Tbsp. dried basil
  • 2 Tbsp. minced garlic
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 Tbsp. cornstarch
  • 1/4 c. cold water
Directions
1.  Cut roast in half and place in a 3-qt. slow cooker. In a small bowl, combine the cheese, honey, soy sauce, basil, garlic, oil and salt; pour over pork. Cover and cook on low for 5-1/2 to 6 hours or until a meat thermometer reads 160°.
2.  Remove meat to a serving platter; keep warm. Skim fat from cooking juices and transfer to a small saucepan. Bring liquid to a boil. Combine cornstarch and water until smooth. Gradually stir into pan. Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened. Slice roast and serve with sauce.
Buen Provecho!
Besos,
Flor
Leave a Reply

