Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Standard

Hola!

When I was younger there was nothing better than my mom making refried beans, chile colorado or enchiladas with lard. When I got married my husband was a health freak. Nothing fried. I was converted to skim milk and diet coke. I have never used lard to fry anything and it still turns out pretty tasty. I use a lot of olive oil or vegetable oil. I only use my deep fryer for maybe three things and that might be used only a handful of times a year. Those three delicious things are tortilla chips, catfish nuggets, chicken wings and these awesome chicken tenders. OK-thats four things! I usually bake chicken tenders in the oven, but I had to fry these and they were so worth it!

These tenders were delicious! Crunchy on the inside and tender on the inside. This was one meal Julieta loved to help me make.

Ingredients

  • Vegetable or canola oil for frying
  • 1 1/2 lbs. chicken tenderloins
  • 1/2 c. buttermilk
  • 1/4 c. hot sauce (I used Frank’s Red Hot)
  • 3/4 c. self-rising flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. fresh cracked black pepper

Directions

In a large, heavy pot or deep fryer heat oil to 350 degrees.

Prepare chicken by trimming off any little tendons that might be unpleasant to eat.

In a shallow dish, mix buttermilk and hot sauce. Whisk gently.

In a separate shallow dish, combine self-rising flour, salt, and pepper. Stir to combine.

Dunk chicken in buttermilk mixture allowing excess to drip off and then dredge in flour mixture.* Repeat with remaining chicken pieces.

Once the oil reaches 350 degrees, drop 4-5 pieces of chicken into the pan at a time. Cook until a light golden brown, about 3-5 minutes. Drain on paper towel and serve immediately.

I served this with some ranch dressing and the combo was perfectly divine! If there are leftovers how about making a wrap with this chicken and tons of veggies?

Besos,

Flor

Recipe adapted from http://www.thethreelittlepiglets.com/

About Flor

Hola! I'm Flor. Forty-something, wife, mom, amateur baker, amateur home cook, self professed craftinista, Elvis loving chick. This blog is about my journey through the everyday life. I hope you find some inspiration here! All posts and opinions are solely mine.

Leave a Reply

