Thai Chicken Quinoa Bowl

Standard

Hey!

The weekend flew by! It was a quiet weekend with no obligations so it was kind of cool. Saturday we had Wingapalooza at my house. I made a huge salad and fried 10 pounds of chicken wings-yes, 10 pounds. They were delicious. They were everything we shouldn’t eat but we did! We worked up that appetite by doing a little clothes shopping for my girls.Shopping was weird. Julieta chose clothes that is so different from the usual t-shirts she likes. Last week she received her first “tween” or young adult haircut. It was cut right below the shoulders and in layers. She is definitely growing up. Sunday was quiet and the weather was nice enough both days that I was able to open the windows.

Now it’s time for another work week and I have the perfect springtime meal. I’ve posted about quinoa before and I just can’t get enough of it. If I make too much of it I find myself adding it to salads and soups to make meals a bit more filling but still healthy.

Thai Chicken Quinoa Bowl

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup uncooked quinoa, rinsed
  • 1 chicken breast, cooked and shredded
  • 1/3 cup chopped carrots (I used shredded carrots from a bag-I was lazy!)
  • 1/3 cup shelled edamame (I used thawed from frozen)
  • 1/3 cup chopped green onions
  • 1/4 cup chopped peanuts
  • 1/4 cup freshly chopped cilantro (I didn’t use cilantro)

Sauce  Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons sweet chili sauce
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon canned coconut milk
  • 1/2 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon creamy peanut butter (it mixes in easier if it’s melted)
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1/2 lime, juice
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground ginger

Directions:

Prepare quinoa according to directions, which will most likely call for 1 cup of liquid. I prefer to use chicken stock or sometimes just water.

While quinoa is cooking, combine all of the sauce ingredients together in a bowl and whisk well to combine. Once quinoa has absorbed all of the liquid, stir in the sauce and toss well to coat. Add in chicken, carrots, edamame and green onions, stirring to combine. Taste and season with a little salt and pepper if needed. Toss in half of the peanuts and cilantro, then serve in a large bowl, topped with remaining peanuts and cilantro.

If you have any leftovers they are perfect for lunch-especially if you must have meals that don’t need heating up. This is perfect for spring and summer!

This is the first time I have ever had edamame. It was quite good! It kind of reminded me of a combination between a snow pea and a green pea. I have never tried so many new veggies in my life! In the last 6 months I have tried a total of three new veggies! Yay for me! I guess that is good for me since I am still battling extra pounds. I am trying to incorporate as many veggies into my meals as possible.

So I mentioned on one of my posts last week that I’ve started using instagram. Since I started instagram I am of course taking way more pictures. Everyday I say a “Thank You” prayer  for all the blessings that I have, but now I have  much more appreciation…even for the little things that we might think are “just a picture”. Some of those pictures might be of food, sentimental items, people, funny things, etc…instagram has helped me find beauty in the smallest things! It sounds corny, but it’s true! You can find me on instagram @micasayourcasa

Besos,

Flor

Recipe Source http://www.howsweeteats.com/

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

