Migas

Standard

Hola!

I hope everyone enjoyed their weekend as much as I did. This was the perfect weekend!

I started out the weekend Friday night going out with my best friend for some drinks…I needed to get my Bloody Mary on! When we left the place where we had drinks it was snowing, yes snowing. I couldn’t believe it. When I got up Saturday morning there was still a bit of snow on the ground. This weather has been unbelievable. Saturday was all about shopping. I hadn’t shopped for myself in so long that it was time…I needed to feel like myself again so I went shopping with my best friend, husband and Julieta and bought some adorable new clothes. I guess eating a lot of vegetables has paid off because I kind of went down a size…I am going to continue eating those delicious veggies. I had been looking forward to Sunday because I had brought an awesome deal on Groupon for the Great American Cooking Expo. It was date day with my husband. We had never been to anything like the expo. There were a lot of vendors, mostly food and liquor that could be sampled. I sampled quite a bit of liquor! I did learn that whiskey is definitely not for me!

The pretty bottle on the lower left hand side was filled with Cognac Vodka…It was to die for. That is on my grocery list for next week!

I told you there were a lot of liquor vendors and I didn’t take pictures of all of them.

The expo was smaller than I expected but it was nice to get out and try different things.

Speaking of different things…Migas.

I had never heard of these  and I saw them on this awesome blog http://thepioneerwoman.com/ This woman’s blog is amazing she is truly talented!

I think I can sum up Migas as an egg scramble with delicious vegetables and the addition of fried chopped tortillas. If you make homemade tortillas chips or tostadas and have left overs this is one of the great recipes you can make.

Migas

Ingredients

  • 4 whole Corn Tortillas
  • 1 whole Jalapeno, Seeds And Membranes Removed, Finely Diced
  • 4 whole Plum Tomatoes, Roughly Chopped
  • 1 whole Green Pepper, Roughly Chopped
  • 1 whole Red Bell Pepper, Roughly Chopped
  • 1 whole Medium Onion, Chopped
  • 12 whole Large Eggs
  • 1 cups Cotija Cheese, Grated (may Use Cheddar, Monterey Jack, Etc.)
  • 1/3 cup Cilantro, Chopped
  • 1 Tablespoon Butter
  • 1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
  • 1/4 cup Half-and-half

Directions

In a bowl, whisk together eggs and half & half. Salt and pepper eggs, then set aside.

In a small skillet over medium heat, heat oil and fry each corn tortilla just until crisp. Remove to a paper towel-lined plate to drain. Chop tortillas and set aside.

In a large skillet over medium-high heat, melt the olive oil with the butter. Add onions and bell peppers and cook until starting to turn brown/black, about 3 to 4 minutes. Add in diced jalapeños and stir to combine. Add tomatoes to the skillet and stir around, then add tortilla pieces, stirring gently to combine.

Reduce heat to low.

When the heat has decreased, pour egg mixture into skillet. Stir gently to cook with the peppers, folding mixture very gently as it cooks. Add in grated cheese and chopped cilantro, and stir to combine.

This was so good! I think this is typically meant to be for breakfast but would also work out great for lunch or dinner. I would of course add some salsa over it and have them with refried frijóles. Qúe Rico!

Needless to say I ate a lot this weekend…and it wasn’t all veggies! To see what I ate check me out on Instagram @micasayourcasa.

Quick update on my feet…the orthotics are amazing. My feet feel so much better that I am going to join Zumba…I am looking forward to it since I haven’t exercised in so long. Another good thing is that the orthotics are thin and fit in just about every pair of shoes I have. WooHoo! This makes Flor a happy girl!

Have a great Monday!

Besos,

Flor

 

 

Leave a Reply

