Bacon Wrapped Asparagus Bundles

Standard

Hey!

Do any of you read the headlines that appear when you open Yahoo to check your e-mail? I read some of the stories and read a story about a young man whose body was found in the waters off a park in Providence, Rhode Island just recently after he had been missing for about a month. That young man was named  Sunil Tripathi. It’s a sad story. Probably not the kind of story anyone wants to read. But I read it anyways. After the young mans body was found his family was quoted as saying

“Take care of one another. Be gentle, be compassionate. Be open to letting someone in when it is you who is faltering. Lend your hand. We need it. The world needs it.”

I felt the need to share that. That quote for some reason just touched me and I have been thinking about that quote since I saw it yesterday. If we all did what that quote says the world would be such a different place.

That wasn’t the best intro but it is followed by a delicious recipe. I have never had bacon wrapped asparagus and thought I would give it a try. My daughters LOVE bacon so I figured they would like it and they actually loved it!

This was so easy even my youngest could make it!

Bacon Wrapped Asparagus

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 pounds asparagus spears, trimmed 4 to 5 inches long tips
  • Extra-virgin olive oil, for drizzling
  • A few grinds black pepper
  • 4 slices center cut bacon or pancetta
  • Chopped chives or scallions, optional garnish

Directions

Preheat oven, if using, to 400 degrees F.

Lightly coat asparagus spears in extra-virgin olive oil. Season the asparagus with black pepper. Take a quick count of the spear tips. Divide the total number by four. Gather that number of spears and use a slice of bacon to wrap the bundle and secure the spears together. Repeat with remaining ingredients.

To grill, place bundles on hot grill and cover. Cook 10 to 12 minutes until bacon is crisp and asparagus bundles are tender.

For oven preparation, place bundles on slotted broiler pan. Bake 12 minutes.

I made ours in the oven and I wish I had made tons more. It is easy but looks so elegant. These were so good that my husband decided to plant some asparagus in the garden. I hope they grow because I want to eat a lot of this!

Have a wonderful weekend!

Besos,

Flor

Recipe Source http://www.foodnetwork.com/

 

Leave a Reply

